The Road To Easter

Tomorrow is Ash Wednesday in our church, and today we will be making a little craft to take us through Lent.  I meant to do this Saturday, but we had a lot going on.  I hope we don’t have to leave out the important Mardi Gras tradition of shoving a few jelly filled donuts in our faces.  We are partial to the Paczki’s from Marge’s Donut Den but they are available everywhere.

A five year old boy in the house means that anything car-related is pretty much a good bet for him. And a younger sister in the house means anything her big brother thinks is fun is a good bet for her.  It’s not often that the Catholic Liturgical calendar can be expressed through a car activity, and I’m sure this will be a big hit. 

Domestic-Church has a guide to a ‘Lent Car’ on its website.  Scroll down to “Road To Easter”. I’m not going to run out and buy anything for this project, I’m just going to tape some paper together, draw the ‘map’ on it, and stick it on the wall. 

I’ll just cut out two cars and let the kids decorate it them, then also print and cut out the weekly symbols that get attached to the map.  There are also some suggested activities that I like too.  I think I’ll just keep the glue sticks handy and move them along the cars every few days.

Now, off to Marge’s for a post-craft treat!

2 Comments

Filed under Country Day Homeschool, Something to Make Saturday

2 responses to “The Road To Easter

  1. Hola! Long time, no comments. I’m getting back into the swing of things. Give me a moment to catch up on your life… 🙂

  2. We had our very first paczki’s yesterday, and we went to Marge’s to get them. Aaron loved it…especially the duo of accordian players that were there for the occasion.

Leave a comment