Then there was the time I fell off the treadmill..

After finishing a 5K, I wasn’t sure where I was going to go with this whole running thing. I took a week off, and then started getting up early to run. I mean early – my husband leaves for work at 6:30 and I run so slow if I want to get any distance covered I have to leave the night before.  Just kidding. I leave at 5:15. That’s AM. It’s ridiculous.

I could have kept running on the treadmill at a decent hour, but about two weeks before the race I fell off. To be entirely accurate, I hopped off to adjust the fan to a more favorable position (blowing directly on me – I was hot), and for reasons I still can’t understand, absent-mindedly tried to step back on the treadmill while it was, uh, milling.

It shot me off the back and in the process gouged my shins and knees. I had super ugly scabs and still have the “Something happened here. Something bad” look going on both knees.  And that was two months ago.  I get nervous when I hop on a treadmill now.  I think it’s the fear of the stupid thing I will do next, maybe stop to bend over and tie my shoes? 

So outside is the way to go. My dog has a little pack to carry her waste disposal bags and my phone (it has compartments…) and away we go. It’s fun. It’s peaceful. I feel AWESOME when I’m done. I felt like I owned this little three mile section of Grand Rapids. 

That was, until I hurt my shoulder. Running. It takes a special gift to hurt your shoulder running, so let me share it with you.

First, you don’t look at the ground. You look all around, at the pretty flowers that are blooming, the recycling bins  people forgot to take in, the rabbit that just saw your dog and is bolting away. Also, make sure you are running downhill, otherwise this won’t work as well. Next you’ll want to trip over a little bump up in the sidewalk, but make sure you dog isn’t aware of it. It’s only this way that you will be able to have your arm fully extended when you fall.  This is the crucial piece for ensuring shoulder injury, but downhill effect maximizes the amount of gravel that gets into your hands. And your knees. Oh, your knees.

I lost a little steam after that. I mean not that day, but in general. I’ve been out a few times since then, but I started cheating on running.  Doing classes at the gym. Zumba, even. I love to dance and have the temptation to quit running altogether and adjust my career goals to being a Fly Girl on the off-chance that In Living Color makes a comeback.

But I can’t. Just like running that stupid 5K, I had to do it. 

So I am running a 10K. It’s not until October, but given my propensity for ridiculous injury and extremely slow speed, I need to start now.  I would describe my relationship with running as the ultimate love/hate one. I feel like I need to kick it’s ass but in the process, it kicks mine. Did you notice? The only time I use swear words on Big Binder is when I’m talking about running. It’s a determination and an energy that feels like a competition; but I’m only competing with myself. And I love it.

For more Things I Love Thursday, check out the Diaper Diaries.

Don’t want to miss a post? Subscribe to my RSS feed, get Big Binder by email, follow me on twitter, or become fan on Facebook. Or, just leave a comment saying you stopped by.

9 Comments

Filed under Things I Love Thursday

9 responses to “Then there was the time I fell off the treadmill..

  1. I’m sorry, I think I stumbled on the wrong blog my mistake. Who are you????????? Between you running and me going all crunchy and organic it is very possible the end of the world is coming very, very soon.

  2. if i lived near by i would suggest we run together…but instead, maybe we can just “inspire” each other!

    way to go girl…keep up the good work!

  3. I’ll join you in the strange or uncoordinated injuries. Fun Times.

    Which 10k are you doing in October? Tweet me and let me know… maybe I can join you for it! Slow runners unite! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Saturday Sevens: Inaugural edition…

  5. I’m the only person I know who has actually fallen UP the stairs. I am way too uncoordinated (okay, and lazy) for exercise.

    I only run if I am being chased!

  6. You know, this story reminds me of that music video where the singers are doing all kinds of crazy tricks on the treadmills. You should definitely not try that. Dang, I wish I could remember their name – it’s on the tip of my tongue! OK Go! That’s their name. OK Go.

    Keep up the running. You’ll be glad when you’re really super old that you did, because you won’t feel as old as the people around you. Provided you knock it off with the injuries of course.

  7. You’re brave. I would be nervous that I would fall on the pavement.
    Especially considering that I do supercool things like walking into driftwood and scraping the length of my shin. Or…. Trying to step over the cat and fully kneeing the closed door behind her.
    I’m clever like that.

Leave a comment