Top 10 Things About Strawberries

top-ten-tuesday.jpgStrawberries are almost here! I know this, because I obsessively check the farm’s website starting around Easter, and the latest harvest estimate is June 12. Since I have strawberries on the brain, let me share some information you’ll be glad you don’t have to live another day without.

  1. Earlier is better.  The first crop is the sweetest. I don’t know why, that’s what the lady at the Strawberry Farm told me. Perhaps it is a marketing technique, (“buy early! buy often!”) but I am not messing with it.
  2. I really want to try this recipe for Fresh Strawberry Limeade Slush from Amy’s Finer Things.  It looks like something you’d find on a cruise ship.
  3. There are over 200 seeds on every strawberry.
  4. Apparently, they are not a berry after all.  They are a fruit.
  5. This is an absolutely amazing resource about where to find a strawberry (or any berry. or fruit. or whatever) farm near you.
  6. I know Megan in real life, and sincerely hope she finds an occasion to make this Strawberry Cake where I will be in attendance.
  7. You can dip strawberries in all kinds of things; not just chocolate. For the record, I am not against dipping them in chocolate. Not at all.
  8. I try to have the best of both worlds with this picking-from-the-field stuff.  I let my kids pick a few quarts, but order up a couple of flats already picked too.  I would grow old and die right there in the field before my kids got enough berries for me.
  9. I still have a few quarts of strawberries in the freezer from last year. Oops. I just didn’t want to run out. Way to live on the edge.
  10. I also make jam, and can it. It’s crazy good. Four cups of sugar will do that to anything, though.

For more Top Ten Tuesday, check out OhAmanda!

Don’t want to miss a post? Subscribe to my RSS feed, get Big Binder by email, follow me on twitter, or become fan on Facebook. Or, just leave a comment saying you stopped by.

15 Comments

Filed under Top Ten Tuesday

15 responses to “Top 10 Things About Strawberries

  1. My plan this year is to freeze chopped strawberries into ice cube trays so that I can add it to my kids oatmeal to help cool it off.
    I thought it was brilliant. Plus, maybe we can break the habit of buying the oatmeal packs.

  2. I’ll go to bed dreaming of pick-your-own fruit farms now… thanks for that link!

  3. I love strawberries! Used to live near Oxnard and went to the strawberry festival once. We get delicious strawberries from our CSA. I love strawberries dipped in sour cream (among other things). Another good thing to know — strawberries are one of the highest-pesticide produce items, so buy them at Farmer’s Markets whenever you can! Local small family farms almost never use pesticides, even if they are not certified organic.
    More on pesticides and produce:
    http://eco-novice.blogspot.com/2010/05/not-blueberries-produce-and-pesticides.html

  4. I’m headed out to pick strawberries tomorrow! Now I’m extra excited!

  5. Ohh! I love all the recipes you mentioned!! I just got my first batch on Friday! I only got a small one – he didn’t have many & they were still very small, but oh so yummy!! And so cute too:)

  6. Oh, I want to pick strawberries! Thanks for all the fun links!

  7. aah! They’re here? Where? Must. Get. Strawberries.

    • Wendy and Megan – I go to Krupp farms, in Sparta. I don’t know what the best place for picking tons and tons – because I get hot and bored and just want to go home and make jam.

  8. where do you pick strawberries? I’ve never gone, but I want to. Any suggestions?

    p.s. I think we definitely have a deal…I make a strawberry cake, you teach me lots of fun things about canning and freezing. I’m definitely getting the better end of that deal 🙂 And thank you for not shunning the box of cake mix that goes into that cake…

  9. We always get A TON of strawberries every year from friends of ours…I’m gonna have to check out those links…THANKS!

  10. Strawberries are absolutely one of my favorite fruits. I craved them the whole time I was pregnant, and fortunately I have Florida in-laws who kept me fairly well supplied in winter strawberries, lol.

  11. I have strawberries in the fridge right now that are going to be sliced and combined with fresh sliced peaches and served over pound cake that I plan to bake sometime in the next couple of days. Mmm.

Leave a comment