Fun City this weekend!

Aaaah, Festival. Streets full of people and art and of course, that one crazy guy who carries around the giant picket sign and yells at everyone that the world is ending.  Little kids from local dance studios performing on the ‘big’ stage in front of a huge crowd absolutely thrilled because they’re famous.

Children soak up the art and don’t even realize it. They participate in the activities, but also swing on a tire swing which, by the way, is a di Suervo sculpture and stroll right under a bright, giant Calder. Tacos in a bag, lamb on a stick, and Bosnian meat pies. Halava, shrimp quesadillas…

This is my Grand Rapids. This is what I want people who don’t live here to see, and what I want people who do live here to notice. Festival brings it all together. That’s what I’m doing this weekend.

Well, that, and – moving Big Binder to it’s own website. Yep. I’ll be adding bells and whistles all weekend.  Check the CalendarActive Kids and the Summer in the City now, because I don’t know if you’ll be able to access it for a couple of days. I have been updating the heck out of them, so there is new stuff there. Don’t worry, I’ll be back for sure on Monday. Enjoy your weekend!

Don’t want to miss a post? Subscribe to my RSS feed, get Big Binder by email, follow me on twitter, or become fan on Facebook. Or, just leave a comment saying you stopped by.

11 Comments

Filed under Things to do Thursday

11 responses to “Fun City this weekend!

  1. Congratulations on the big move! Hope all the bits get where they are supposed to be going 😉

  2. nicolerenae

    I’ll be there! My husband plays Saturday night at the Clock Tower stage, 8:30 pm (Rick Hopkins). And I’m looking forward to taking my kids to the paint-in and glue-in, they loved those last year! I hope the rain stays away!
    Can’t wait to see your new site!

  3. Cindy

    I think you shoud have Big Binder written on your arm so we can say Hi if we see you among the crowds! 😉

    • Excellent suggestion. I’m sure my kids have enough paint to do it – just wonder if they would spell it right? So be on the lookout for “Bug Bender” or something along those lines 🙂

  4. My family has been looking forward to Festival for weeks. Looking forward to the opening ceremony parade.

  5. Phil Pletcher will be playing piano with the Schubert Male Chorus, the West MI Gay Men’s Chorus (on the Calder Stage) and Anne Marie Church. The big news is that he will be singing bass with the male a capella quartet Half and Half. What a great sound! I’ll be at Festival all weekend beginning tomorrow at noon with the West MI Hispanic Chamber of Commerce at the Calder. I LOVE Festival!

    • Bruce, thanks for the info! I usually haven’t heard of the musicians so it’s good to get a recommendation. I will stop by the WMiHCC to say hi, hope you’re there!

  6. I used to go down to Festival every year when I worked downtown, but haven’t made it since. Thank you for the reminder – I’d almost forgotten it was this weekend! Hopefully I can take the girls down for a while – they’ve never been. 🙂

    Good luck on the move for Big Binder – let me know if you need any help with anything!

Leave a comment