Top Ten Things I Learned At My First Blog Conference

top-ten-tuesday.jpgI did it. After very happily writing for three years, I decided it was time to learn how to move beyond content. I think I’ve grown as a writer, and made a lot of connections in my community, but I felt like other blogs were growing their readership while I was slowly adding readers.  How are they doing that? I went to Gleek Retreat to find out. 

Incidentally, “Gleek” doesn’t really have anything to do with the TV show Glee, but please don’t let it stop you from enjoying a Gleek Retreat video with a song from the Glee soundtrack.

  1. Do not ask the guy from the Big Ad Network  if they are interested in a small blog, with good influence. The answer is no. Even if you stalk him a little, and ask him again. It will still be no.
  2. Upon learning that a Big Blogger has an interest in birds, do not announce to her that your children have an Adult Bird Book. It sounds like you are teaching them about some kind of Rookery Brothel, and you’ll never be able to recover the conversation.
  3. Small is the new big. Although big conferences offer lot of opportunities to network; the setting at Gleek Retreat was less hectic and afforded a little more in the way of really hanging out
  4. Meeting people you have previously only known on line is an amazing, rewarding experience. It’s more like seeing an old friend than meeting a new one.
  5. I was relieved to find out that speaking at a conference is not that scary, because I will have to give an acceptance speech for “Most Improved Blog” next year.  I actually just made the award up therefore have not really been asked to speak, but I still found this to be good news, you know, just in case.
  6. Even at a small conference, there will be people you didn’t get to spend much time with. (Next year, my friend!) 
  7. Sitting at a table, laptops open and tweeting each other is not only completely acceptable, it is crazy fun.
  8. I don’t have to be envious of people who went to conferences and landed amazing opportunities anymore. I made connections that I know will make the world (and our blogs) a better place.
  9. If, upon returning home you abruptly decide to learn how to use Mr. Linky and invent a completely unannounced carnival that evening, your new friends will join you. MWAH!
  10. Should you ever have the opportunity to have your blog’s name painted on your arm, do it. 

 

Do you need more Top Ten Tuesday (or a fun giveaway!)? See what’s going on with OhAmanda.

Don’t want to miss a post? Subscribe to my RSS feed, get Big Binder by email, follow me on twitter, or become fan on Facebook. Or, just leave a comment saying you stopped by.

18 Comments

Filed under Top Ten Tuesday

18 responses to “Top Ten Things I Learned At My First Blog Conference

  1. 7. Crazy fun…hilarious fun!

  2. it was great meeting and hanging with ya!!

  3. Awesome top 10 – and I will so be there to watch you accept that award next year, my friend! I can’t believe the difference I feel after Gleek than after BlogHer last year – there’s just no comparison.

    I am so glad that we finally got to meet in person – and I don’t think I’ve laughed as hard as I did when I remembered the ‘adult’ bird book conversation from lunch that day – that was priceless.

    I can’t wait to get together again one of these days soon! 🙂

  4. LOVE your recap! It was great getting to know you…can’t wait to do it again next year.

  5. I’ll totally vote for you in the most improved blog! Can’t wait to hear your acceptance speech, if it’s anywhere as good as your blog posts.

    Good idea stalking the ad guy . . . there’s always next year.

  6. It was so nice to meet you this past weekend! Love your top 10 list…hilarious and helpful!

  7. sounds like so much fun, I’m so sorry I missed it! I’m in for sure next year 🙂

  8. You’re awesome!

    wish i could have gone 😦 next year FO SHO!

  9. This sounds like so much fun. I’m itching to go to a blog conference!
    ~Alicia

  10. How fun! I heard about the gleek retreat! So glad it was awesome…now I wanna click thru all the links! 🙂

  11. It was fun wasn’t it? Love your “tattoo”! LOL
    Thanks!

  12. Great list!! I’m glad it was good for you!!

  13. I have wondered about the blog conferences, and if a small blog like mine would benefit. But maybe just the fun of going would be enough.

  14. I debated about going, but it was the weekend of the East Lansing Arts Festival, and I’d promised my kids we would go. I just couldn’t break the promise, but next year I think they’ll have to go without me. Gleek Retreat sounded like fun!

  15. Great list and I loved finally meeting you, too!

    I’m so glad I’m not the only one who sounded like a dork when talking to Melissa Summers. I knew she looked familiar but didn’t realize how big a blogger she was until they introduced her for the panel.

    Adult bird book…love it!

  16. Jen, I was DYING laughing after number one…I will vote for you for MIBA for sure. 🙂 Love this!
    🙂 Katie

  17. I’m still working my way through blogging…just recently started to get serious with it, but I love your list so much, that I really want to go to a blogging conference now!

Leave a Reply

