Designer Imposters

top-ten-tuesday.jpgA few years ago, I was sporting a fairly fancy L.L. Bean windbreaker.  My friend asked me how I could afford ‘stuff like that’, knowing that our income was – well, knowing what our income was.  I admitted that I’d found it at Goodwill. She said I was a “Secondhand snob”.  I want the good life, but I don’t want to pay for it.

I’ll own that.

I have compiled a list for you, should you also “want the life’ without paying for it.  Here are some substitutes that are so good; you’ll never miss the original.

  1. Aldi Hazelnut Spread for Nutella.
  2. McDonald’s Mocha Frappé for Starbucks Frappucino*
  3. Happy’s Square Pizza for Jet’s
  4. Meijer Organics for – do I dare say it?? TRADER JOE’S. Oh yes I did.
  5. Douglas J Aveda Institute for somewhere crazy expensive.
  6. Grand Rapids Griffins  games for Redwings games (I may take a little flack for that one…)
  7. This recipe for – rhymes with Wastefully Dimple Nana’s Apple Cake.
  8. Vacation Bible School for camp I have to pay for
  9. Pericoro Romano for Parmesean
  10. Lake Michigan/Saugatuck’s Oval Beach for the cold, salty ocean with creatures that want to sting and/or bite me.

 *Possible parallel move.

Do you need more Top Ten Tuesday? See what’s going on with OhAmanda.

Don’t want to miss a post? Subscribe to my RSS feed, get Big Binder by email, follow me on twitter, or become fan on Facebook. Or, just leave a comment saying you stopped by

9 Comments

Filed under Top Ten Tuesday

9 responses to “Designer Imposters

  1. “Wastefully Dimple” – hahaha!! Love it:) That’s a great TTT list!

  2. LOL! #7 cracked me up!! And as much as I love the ocean I totally agree w/#10! I’ve been stung by a jellyfish! Great list!! 😀

    • That is my worst nightmare. I’m shivering just thinking about it – and impressed that you lived to tell. I would die, on the spot, just out of terror.

  3. Great list! I wish we had Meijer here!

    And I’m w/you on the 2nd hand–it’s all the same! Thanks for linking up today!

  4. I wish had an Aldi just for the hazlenut spread now. I ADORE Nutella but it’s so dang expensive and fattening.
    We live in New England and Dunkin Donuts is HUGE here. Not so much for their donuts (blech.) but for their delicious coffee that is so much cheaper than Starbucks. However , their prices are on the rise and are more expensive than McDonald’s. Their med iced coffee? $2.39. McDonald’s that tastes *almost* as good? $1.

    Great list!

  5. What a cute post! I love the trade off list! I’m a “secondhand snob” myself 🙂

  6. Love this kind of info.! Looking forward to pulling a “secret taste test” on my husband regarding the Mickey-D’s vs. Starbucks frapp.

  7. Ha – love this post! I’ll have to try the Aldi hazelnut spread… I LOVE nutella!

  8. Ahhhh, I need an Aldi’s because I love Nutella, but I never buy it due to budget constraints.

Leave a Reply

