Menu Plan Monday

mpm-1

MONDAY

Refried Bean and Lentils Tacos

I don’t have this recipe written down, but I make it pretty often.  I cook two cups of lentils, then dump a can of refried beans in it.  I add about 1/2 a can (from the beans) of water, and about 2 tablespoons of dried onion, and mix it all together.  Then I add about 3-4 tablespoons of taco seasoning, and cook until it’s all warmed through and a good consistency.

I just serve it with taco toppings – cheese, olives, sour cream, cilantro, etc.

Corn on the cob.  It’s from Florida, but we haven’t had The Good Stuff in about 8 months so we probably won’t be able to tell.

Applesauce

TUESDAY

Dirty Rice with Beans and Sausage

I don’t have this recipe written down either. I cook half a package of dried kidney beans (post on the Art of Cooking Dried Beans coming soon!!), and drain the cooking water.

Towards the end of the bean-cooking time, I cook 2 cups of rice. 

While the rice is cooking, I brown a pound of sausage. 

While the sausage, rice, and beans are cooking I puree two 14 oz cans of tomatoes.

When everything is done doing it’s business, I put it all in the pan where I browned the sausage.  I let it simmer until the tomatoes cook down, about 15-20 minutes.  

Then I season with Tastefully Simple’s Onion-Onion and Cayenne Pepper to taste.  I can’t make it too hot or the kids will freak out, so we just put Louisiana Hot Sauce on it to spice it up if we need to.

Broccoli

WEDNESDAY

Omlettes

Fresh Fruit – Blackberries and Pineapple

THURSDAY

BBQ Pork Sandwiches

Ridiculously easy.  I just put a couple of pounds of boneless pork loin in a crock pot with a bottle of BBQ sauce.  I check it every couple of hours and add water if it’s trying out.  I do four hours on high, or 8 hours on low depending on my schedule that day.

Salad with Pomengranate-Life Dressing (trying this for the first time – it looks interesting!)

  • 1/4 cup fresh lime juice
  • 1/4 cup Naturally Pomegranate™
  • 1 tablespoon mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 small garlic clove, minced
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • Salt 

Combine first 6 ingredients in a large bowl. Add coconut oil and whisk to blend. Season with salt to taste.

Edamame

FRIDAY

Grilled Cheese Panini on Homemade Bread

Fresh cut up veggies and dip

Get more Menu Plan Monday from I’m an Organizing Junkie.

Don’t want to miss a post? Subscribe to my RSS feed, get Big Binder by email, follow me on twitter, or become fan on Facebook. Or, just leave a comment saying you stopped by!

3 Comments

Filed under Menu Plan Monday

3 responses to “Menu Plan Monday

  1. Hi! I could google it, but I am curious why you are using lentils?

    Your menu does look delicious- I love anything with cilantro!

    Fun to see your blog again- thanks for your visit and comment. 🙂 I LOVE that chicken!!

    Emily/Miss Mommy

    • Hi Emily! I just like lentils, they are cheap and don’t really have a ton of flavor so you can just stick them in recipes as a meat replacement (like instead of ground beef) and still get protien. It’s just something other than beans, which I tend to throw in everything 🙂

Leave a Reply

