Scholastic Warehouse Sale

It’s time to start thinking about all of those long, hot summer days.  They seem so appealing right now but when they get here they’re just so… long. And hot. One of our big summer activities is to participate in each and every one of the Summer Reading Clubs around town.  I am crazy competitive with these things.  I spend a good 20 minutes every night logging books we read that day onto the forms from the various clubs.  It’s a sickness, really. 

My kids both learned to read this year.  Yes, they are two years apart but this particular skill blossomed in both of them at pretty much the same time.  That means I need a fresh stash of books that they haven’t memorized.  You know, to keep their skills sharp.  It has absolutely nothing to do with the fact that I am insane when it comes to buying kids’ books.  Also complete coincidence that I am have read the same books over and over.  Yup, I am doing this for my kids.

In my opinion the best place to get this fresh stash of books is at a Scholastic Warehouse Sale.  Around these parts, it happens but twice a year; once in May and once in December.  If you aren’t in West Michigan, check out the Scholastic Website to see if there is a warehouse sale by you.  There is a coupon to print too, but you have to spend $50.  For me this is not a problem.  I suggest you take a calculator to keep track of what is in your cart, and that you do not take your children.  Or at least, do not take my children.  They have proven themselves impossible to have a good browsing experience with.

The sale in Caledonia is at 8280 Broadmoor SE on Wednesday, May 5 through Wednesday May 19.  I LOVE these sales and I can’t wait to go! For more Things I Love Thursday (and a giveaway!), go to the Diaper Diaries.

Don’t want to miss a post? Subscribe to my RSS feed, get Big Binder by email, follow me on twitter, or become fan on Facebook. Or, just leave a comment saying you stopped by!

6 Comments

Filed under Things I Love Thursday

6 responses to “Scholastic Warehouse Sale

  1. I’m the same way with the reading clubs. and with the boys reading. Noah has finally started reading chapter books for fun and Aaron, even though he’s just finishing young fives, picks out hard books to read too. Thanks for the heads up on the next sale. I always spend way too much but I am going to stock up on books for the summer.

  2. We went last year for the first time and the girls went crazy! Abby and Hannah read at about the same level too, even though they’re almost 2 years apart. The hardest part was having to limit them to only a couple of books each – I could’ve spent so much money in there if I’d been able too. Thanks for posting this – I hadn’t heard when the sale dates for this spring were yet! 🙂

  3. I love children’s books! This sale sounds like a wonderful time. Wish I was closer to a warehouse. Have fun!

  4. You know we share this addiction. We should probably just do a book swap.

  5. Angela

    It’s says the sale is for school staff or book sale volunteers. Can the general public attend?

Leave a Reply

