Grace Hunger Walk

A couple of years ago, my husband and I decided to forfeit our grocery budget for a week and make do with what we had.  We donated the difference to the Grace Hunger Walk, and while we didn’t eat the way we were used to it was a humbling lesson and very meaningful to us to be able to contribute and participate in that way.

I’ve decided to walk it again this year, and to raise additional funds.  I contacted the walk organizer who agreed to let me use an online fundraising page.  I explained to her that I had a blog and in addition to hitting up everyone I have an email address for, I would put a link on Big Binder.

I’m excited about this for a few reasons. 

  • First, because the cause is awesome.  It raises funds for local and international hunger organizations.
  • Second, because there are exactly two fundraising pages for this event, and mine is one of them.
  • Third, because I think social media can completely revolutionize charitable giving. 

Remember the Text to Haiti? Non profit organizations were blown away.  They are really trying to adapt to the way people seem to now prefer giving.  I’m thrilled that the Hunger Walk is investigating this way of reaching people.

And here I am, at the intersection of hunger assistance and social media.  My heart literally beats faster when I re-read that sentence – and knowing that I get to participate fully is a tremendous honor. 

So now I come to you, and unapologetically ask you for money.  It’s not for me.  It’s not for the success of my blog.  It’s to prove that it can be done.  I haven’t done any advertising on Big Binder, and I try and score good and fun giveaways.  I keep it real; and try and help you find awesome things to do with your kids.  Please keep these things in mind, and donate what you can.  I would be thrilled to death with $5 from everyone who is a regular reader.  Thank you so very much.  Click here to go to my fundraising page . Will you help?

3 Comments

Filed under PSA

3 responses to “Grace Hunger Walk

  1. Jen- I love that you are doing this. How long can people donate?

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday « Big Binder

  3. Pingback: My New Favorite | thediaperdiaries.net

Leave a Reply

