’twas the Week Before Spring Break

We had a field trip at Meijer Gardens today with A.P.’s class to visit with the butterflies. If you don’t already know, I do not like them one bit.  I can only blame the trauma of one too many close calls with the flying beasts for somehow missing the fact that I could take my little group of six year old boys outside to the Children’s Garden.  Six year old boys are yucky, trash-talking, nose-picking, fake-farting animals.  They belong outside.  The Gardens is a big place, but there is only so much you can do with boys and butterflies inside and dealing with them all morning completely wiped me out.

Still, I’m glad we went today.  That place is going to be packed during Spring Break so it’s good to get it out of the way. I rounded up some Spring Break fun for you here, but a few other little things have flown across my radar since then.

First, GR Now and West Michigan Mommy list some Easter Egg hunts.  If your kids are a little older, you can sign them up for a Babysitting Class at the American Red Cross.  It’s about time for them to start earning their keep, don’t you think? Kidding! I just need more good sitters and am hoping to increase the pool. Also, you up-northers (this is anyone north of Fulton, in my book) can bowl for cheap at the Sparta Lanes. $1.00 a game – and that includes shoes! 

We are headed to our last Grand Rapids Griffins game of the season tomorrow and I need to spend some time putting together my notes from this program last night.  It was awesome and I promise you will read all about it.  Enjoy your weekend!

1 Comment

Filed under Things to do Thursday

One response to “’twas the Week Before Spring Break

  1. We are hoping to see the Easter bunny today. It has been awhile since I went to a indoor butterfly exhibit. Before I had kids…the butterflies are beautiful but it is more of a quiet, peaceful sort of trip. I can see how little boys might not do so well.

Leave a Reply

