Family Film Festival!

It used to be called the “Dove Family Film Festival“. After a few years, a baseball-hat high-top tennis shoe wearing piece of popcorn called Flick came in and strong-armed the whole enterprise.  There was a fierce battle; a fight for the right to entertain kids and sell them snacks.  Defeated, the Dove finally lifted its battered wing like a white flag of surrender.  “Take good care of them, Flick.  They’re yours now“. 

I have no idea what actually happened. I’m sure it was not nearly as interesting as my version.  Some Memorandums of Understanding were signed, contracts were negotiated, and other boring boardroom stuff is probably what went down. What I do know is that if this film festival was a person, it would have a restraining order against me because I stalk it. 

For the uninitiated; it’s a nice opportunity for you to see a movie with your kids for $3.50 (everyone under 12 is free) in the theater right before it hits the rental market. It’s a sweet deal. I must know what movie is playing when and schedule accordingly.  So here you go, Big Binder readers.  You (probably) heard it here first.  They are all rated PG.

  • Planet 51 March 12-18
  • Astro Boy March 18-25
  • Where the Wild Things Are March 26-April 1
  • Alvin and the Chipmunks – the Squeakuel April 2-8
  • Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs – April 9-15
  • The Spy Next Door – April 16-22

More information is on the Celebration Cinema website.  And I’m totally not saying you are, but if you were the kind of person that sneaks candy into movies and robs the theater of their rights to sell you their smaller, more expensive concession stand candy you might want to check out SnakSnak.  I cannot get enough of this website.  They review snacks.  I love snacks.  And cheap movies.  And epic battles.  So much goodness in the world; I just had to share.

11 Comments

Filed under Breaking News, Feature Friday

11 responses to “Family Film Festival!

  1. thanks for posting this…i ALWAYS forget!

  2. Thanks! I really wanted to take my daughter to see Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs but never got the chance. I love that I can take her and it won’t cost me an entire paycheck!

  3. Liz

    The “Cloudy” movie got GREAT reviews, if I recall correctly.

    Another suggestion — though it’s not a film festival, it’s certainly inexpensive. For $4.95 you can get a very heartwarming movie, “Mr. Jimmy’s Birthday Challenge.” It’s a documentary, made with love, and focuses on Mr. Jimmy and his desire to mark his 80th birthday by jogging/walking etc. 80 kilometers. And the town embraces him and the challenge. And also — good grief, the guy participated in a triathlon! Finished almost dead last, but hey, he finished. As I said, it’s heartwarming and inspiring.

    I also just read that the Hallmark Channel has acquired 99 old Disney family movies…

  4. I had the feeling that as soon as we ponied up the $ to take the girls to see the Squeakuel it would show up on this list right afterward. Sigh. Oh well – the girls do want to see it again anyway. ;)

    Thanks so much for posting this!

    • Come on, Alvin & The Chipmunks: The Squeakquel is totally worth it, a couple of times!! Can’t wait to see it again!!

    • Oh yeah, I see you said your girls want to see it again, yay! I LOVE your pic!! I have two girls, 7 and 4!

    • My daughter thinks that when the girl chipmunks (chickmunks??) are singing “Single Ladies” they are saying “I’m a sting ray, I’m a sting ray” and I want to see it again with her just for that reason :)

      • Oh my goodness, I am tearing up, laughing so much!! That’s tooo…cute! We have seen all of the Flick’s movie choices and enjoyed every one (my 7 year old didn’t necessarily love Where The Wild THings Are, but my 4 year old and myself enjoyed it!). Great family storylines in Astro Boy and The Spy Next Door!

  5. Thanks for the link to Snak Snak – we appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

