Local First!

Long time readers will remember waaaay back in the early days of Big Binder, I ran an “Eat Local Challenge“.  It was two years ago and the Eat Local movement was really picking up steam.  I started researching local food producers, and asked them to donate prizes for contests.  Much to my surprise and delight, they did.  I was paying close attention to the locavore movement, and started making some connections with pretty big national organizations.  I was even asked to be interviewed on national TV, as well as guest blog and contribute content about my local food contest. 

Sadly, those offers were rescinded and they stopped returning my emails when Cheeze Kurls and Stehouwers were some of the prizes.  I approached everyone – including local producers of organic foods (not naming names here) but they weren’t interested. The national organizations who had been so excited initially thought I wasn’t pure enough.  Apparently trying to run a contest giving away heirloom tomatoes would have been a much better  idea.

That’s not what they meant by eating locally.  I was disappointed, but the thought of them stomping their feet in their expensive, trendy shoes so hard they almost spilled their fair trade shade grown soy milk latte made me laugh out loud, so it was worth it.  I don’t advocate eating Cheeze Kurls or Sizzlers often, but they are fine on occasion – and they are made here. 

I stand by buying locally though, even if I can’t hang with the cool kids.  I’m very excited that the new Local First Coupon book is out.  It’s kind of like an Entertainment Book but it’s all local businesses.  It’s $20, and you can get at several places around town, which is good because I need a car wash from Southland real bad.  Look at the website to see if any of the locations are places you frequent.  

If you aren’t in Grand Rapids and you are totally bummed that you can’t get this book, just google something like support local business and hopefully there is something similar for your area.  Probably nothing like what we have here, but you out of towners can always dream 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under EatLocalChallenge

Leave a Reply

