Menu Plan Monday

PhotobucketThis is it! The last week of summer. Here in Michigan it feels very October-y and there’s no getting around it – it’s strange.  I’m sad that the loosey-goosey schedule we’ve enjoyed for the past three months is coming to an end, but I’m so excited for my kids to start school.  They both have fantastic teachers this year, and we just found out Maybelle’s “boyfriend” will be in her class with her.  They’re both thrilled; but cannot physically be near each other without making some sort of contact. I’m hoping they behave themselves in class.  It’s a Christian school, after all.

Here’s what’s on the menu for this week.  I have been very fortunate lately with people giving me produce from their bountiful gardens, so I will be making good use of it. Our garden; not so bountiful.  And considering there is a frost warning tonight, I am not sure how this harvest season is going to turn out.

For more Menu Plan Monday, check out I’m An Organizing Junkie.

MONDAY:

Maybelle’s birthday was Sunday, but we’re having her favorite dinner today instead.  She has requested “pasketti”. Pasketti it is. 

TUESDAY

This is A.P.’s birthday, so we’re having baked fish and broccoli slaw for dinner.  Seriously.  At least he’s normal enough to want cake; but he wants a “pineapple upside down cake, with strawberries instead of cherries”.

WEDNESDAY

Grilled chicken and grilled zucchini.  On the side, I’ll make tabouli. I have some heirloom tomatoes I don’t really know how to use, so I figure this will be a good way to really get the taste of them. And since it feels like fall, we’re also having Apple Crisp

THURSDAY

Homemade pizza with bacon, banana peppers, and cherry tomatoes.   For a side dish, I’m going to try and make Broccoli Salad, but since this is my first attempt I’m just using a random recipe and will give it a shot (except not with the sugar subsitute – yuck).  Anyone have a recipe for Broccoli Salad they like?

On a side note; my husband and I are having our, ahem, “Budget Meeting” later in the evening so I will probably be enjoying one or three glasses of wine with dinner in preparation for the loving, uplifting discussion I’m certain will occur.

FRIDAY

Red beans and rice with saugsage. I am thinking I will have some side dishes left over by this point in the week so I’ll just set those back out.

4 Comments

Filed under Menu Plan Monday

4 responses to “Menu Plan Monday

  1. Sounds like a great week! I’m in Michigan too – and I have to say, I am enjoying the weather!

    Mrs. H

  2. Morning Jen,
    Here’s my favorite broccoli salad recipe!

    http://kellythekitchenkop.com/2009/01/my-favorite-broccoli-salad-a-low-carb-recipe.html

    I feel like I’m eating dessert it’s so good. 🙂

  3. grilled zucchini — yum! I love the apple crisp too. Michigan is getting mighty chilly… but I do love fall here.

  4. Good luck at your meeting with your husband! Maybe if you bring some of that yummy looking baked apple crisp it will go better lol

Leave a Reply

