Don’t Call It a Comeback – I’ve Been Here For Months

HELLO! Oh readers (are there any of you left?).  Oh Big Binder.  I’ve missed you.  I am currently sitting on my couch with my lovely laptop.  It’s shiny and new and speedy and I’m ready to blog again. 

But to be honest, while my technical issues were the primary reason for my ‘summer break’; there were others.  For the first time in my parenting career, I began doubting myself.  I wondered if I was spending more time trying to serve my own needs for pats on the back than I was being a mom.  I also began comparing myself to other mom bloggers and came to the conclusion that I wasn’t active, nutritious, Catholic, house-keepery, involved enough.  Crazy, yes? Yes.  I knew it, but I couldn’t stop.  I just kept reading about the wonderful lives going on all over the blogosphere (where, in fact, the only perfect families live) and feeling that I was failing. 

This is where God stepped in and broke my computer.  Anything beyond a short email, and it was frozen up for a day.  My husband could Facebook his face off, but me? Forget it.  We looked for several weeks and found a good laptop we could afford, then spent another week or so setting up a wireless network in our house.  And by ‘we’ I mean ‘my husband’. 

And about my husband.  He works for a major auto manufacturer and was on and off work for the past few months.  Guilty mom + bored/mildly depressed constantly present husband = good times!  Then a miracle happened.  He took the kids camping.  Alone.  For three days.  I headed over to Saugatuck and cashed in a spa gift certificate on my first-ever facial.  Talk about a turnaround.  The US auto industry should be so lucky. 

So here I am, in good spirits, with greatly improved technology, a full-of-surprises husband, and two amazing kids who, as it turns out, are just fine despite my ‘failures’ to feed them organically all the time, provide an enriching activity every day, get them to Mass every week, complete every summer reading program, and keep my house vacuumed.  It is wonderful to be back.

3 Comments

Filed under Sanctuary Sunday

3 responses to “Don’t Call It a Comeback – I’ve Been Here For Months

  1. Cindy

    I’ve been missing my updates! I’m glad you’re back and I’m glad you are realizing you are human.

  2. If you lived closer we could be inferior together over a nice pitcher of sangria. Thank goodness you’re back.

Leave a Reply

