Kent Harvest Trails

I have a new appreciation for working mothers.  Even though I am not even working 40 hours a week, my whole schedule has changed.  I’m trying to make the best use of the time I have with my kids.  As a result my house is a disaster most of the time, our clothes are wrinkly because they stay in the dryer too long, and I actually tried (very, very unsuccessfully) to adapt a pizza casserole recipe for the crock pot. I called a good friend of mine who is a working mom and asked her how she kept it all together.  After she stopped laughing, she said “in 5 years I haven’t figured it out.  When you do, let me know”. 

Our family time is precious.  We spent Saturday morning at the Mayor’s Grand River Clean Up, and enjoyed it as much as we did last year.  After about an hour or so of picking up candy wrappers and fishing line, my husband found a shopping cart.  In the river.  He hoisted it out, then let an energetic scout troop push it a mile or so back to the dumpster.  BIG shout out to Peppino’s Pizza.  I smelled their little Pizza Truck pull up before I saw it, and somehow they had shoved 60 pizzas into this tiny little truck.  I later found out that they donated them all to the River Clean Up volunteers, which I think is awesome.

Although it’s rainy today, it’s a good reminder that it is fall, after all.  Last year we went apple picking in 80 degree weatherand it just wasn’t right.  Honeycrisps are ready, so we are planning some apple picking trips! There is such a huge variety of picking experiences here, from low-key to almost amusement park like.  Check out Kent Harvest Trails to find an orchard that works for you.

The world is a little crazy right now.  Biblical symbolism aside; the act of picking an apple and eating it right off the tree seems so innocent in the midst of what we are hearing about in the news.  I am looking forward to enjoying it with my family; this year more than ever.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Kent Harvest Trails

  1. I think we pretty much swapped lives. 😉 I’m still getting used to NOT working 40 hours a week. I do have to admit that my house is definitely cleaner though.

    I’m going on Hannah’s field trip on Friday to the apple orchard – can’t wait! Also looking forward to hitting lots of the stops on the Kent Harvest Trails now that we’ll have the time for once. 🙂

Leave a Reply

