Movies – What Do You Think?

The Dove Family Film Festival lineup is out! This is a local film festival that is free for kids, and costs $2.50 for anyone who is over 12.  The Dove Family Foundation chooses movie that get the “Dove Family Approved Seal”.  Last time, it included Bratz. This time, the movies are:

  • Nim’s Island (PG) 9/19-9/25
  • Spiderwick Chronicles (PG) 9/25-10/2
  • Space Chimps (G) 10/3-10/9
  • Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (PG 13) 10/10-10/16
  • Kit Kittredge, An American Girl (G) 10/17-10/23
  • Kung Fu Panda (PG) 10/24-10/30
  • Horton Hears a Who! (G) 10/31-11/6

I really like the Dove Family Film Festival, but I think that the movies have gotten increasingly ‘older’ as time has gone by.  Maybe movies in general have grown up in just the short time that my children have been movie-goers. I love archaeology, Indiana Jones, and Harrison Ford… but I don’t want my kids to see that movie yet. What have you taken your kids to see? Would you agree that these are all Family Friendly?

5 Comments

Filed under Breaking News

5 responses to “Movies – What Do You Think?

  1. We took Clare to Nim’s Island, and I took Clare to see Kit Kittredge. Nim’s Island was def. for older kids, while it was still good it dealt with things that went over Clare’s head. Kit Kittredge is a great movie for girls over the age of 5, it’s a good ole mystery movie that also proves a great point of how we do everything we can to help our families be successful during times when money is tight. I agree about Indiana Jones though!

  2. The only two I would take my 4 & 5 year olds to would be Kung Fu Panda and Horton Hears a Who (both of which we’ve seen).

    I can’t believe the quality of most children’s movies lately; that Space Chimps movie looks really stupid. We just saw Fly Me To the Moon, and the 3-D effects were cool but the plot was really dumb. I’ve also noticed that the G or PG rated movies are usually not worthy of the rating, that they usually include rude language or scary scenes that shouldn’t be for general audiences (IMO). I agree that the Dove films this time are really for older kids. Too bad for us!

  3. ofebers

    My kids saw Indiana Jones and thought some parts were scary. They also saw KFP and liked it, but the little ones thought some stuff was scary too.
    We saw Wall E a couple weeks ago and I think it was way beyond them.

  4. Silly Sister-in-law

    Nim’s Island, Indiana Jones and Spiderwick were awesome. They are probably all too scary for my two favorite little ones, but you too will like them for sure!!!
    Spiderwick and Nim’ Island were our favorites.

  5. Ron watched Nim’s Island with the older girls a few weeks ago and thought it was cute. I’d like to take them to the American Girl one – I think they’d really like it. The other ones on the Dove list aren’t anything that I would take them to though.

Leave a Reply

