All Hail The King

For today’s Things I Love Thursday, I offer up a humble cereal.  King Vitamin by Quaker is the Chuck Taylor All Stars of cereal – it’s old school, baby.

After watching the movie King Corn and becoming terrified of turning into a family of giant, genetically modified corn cobs, my husband and I decided to eliminate high fructose corn syrup (HFCC) from our family’s diet.  This was way harder than we thought it would be, as HFCC is apparently in everything but bottled water.  We eat boxed cereal a few days a week for breakfast, can’t afford to eat Kashi every time.  Plus, my husband thinks most of the Kashi cereals taste like “sticks”.

I really started reading the labels of the cereals we liked, and was very surprised to find out that King Vitamin is sweetened with… hang on to your seats… sugar! It’s old fashioned, yes.  Like molasses cookies, it’s not sticky sweet.  It doesn’t taste like twigs either.  This is a reasonably priced cereal, and it has an added bonus ingredient of coconut oil which I think is all the rage right now.

In fact, King Vitamin is so old it’s not even mentioned on the Quaker Website. Hello missed marketing opportunity.  Let’s just keep it on the down low though.  Just buy a box at a time and don’t jack the demand up, otherwise the price is sure to follow.  I’m sure once you try it, it will be come a thing you love too. 

For more Things I Love Thursday, check out The Diaper Diaries.

5 Comments

Filed under Things I Love Thursday

5 responses to “All Hail The King

  1. Crazy thing is my ultra picky kids like those Kashi sticks. I think they are insane, but it works. We are off the HFCS train too. Except for Fiber One bars. For those babies, I make an exception. It is my Clorox 🙂

  2. ofebers

    We’re on our way to a HFCS free house too! We’re working on Aspartame as well. That’s Ricardo’s Clorox.

  3. Wow, I will have to try this. Maybe I can get my Apple Jacks-addicted little girl onto something else! 🙂

  4. Thank you for the reminder about HFCS—I got all fired up about that a couple of months ago and the summer heat must have wiped it from my mind. Back on that wagon!

    What do you mean with the references to Clorox? PLEASE write me back and say, or just post here and I’ll check back.

    Here’s a link to order your fave cereal. Before I do, what exactly does it taste like. I live in Canada and have never seen it on the shelves. Link: http://quakeroats.elsstore.com/view/category/76-cold-cereal/

    Thanks for a great post!

  5. E

    Have breakfast with the King, baby! I’ve always loved KV. However, it scratches the roof of your mouth. But then I guess sticks do, too.

    You (meaning the world at large, not YOU, Big Binder) can make your own granola, which hopefully wouldn’t taste like sticks, unless you added some.

Leave a Reply

