Menu Plan Monday

I wanted to give an update on some recently tried recipes.  First, the Beef and Chicken Fajitas were absolutely wonderful.  The Nourishing Traditions Waffles were really, really dense.  I like a fluffy waffle, personally.  We did the Corn on the Cob Cupcakes a little differently.  We just made two 9 inch round cakes, and frosted them.  Then, we ‘drew’ a corn cob in the frosting and let the kids decorate them.  They were so cute, and fun, and yummy.

The Grilled Swordfish was awesome.  I have finally found a fish my husband not only tolerates, but requests. The Turkey Lenti Chili was really good too.  Soaking rice in kefir did not work out for me.  The Hummus Dressing was ok, but not as good as I’d hoped.  It just tasted like runny hummus.

I think this week should be relatively normal, but then I’ve thought that all summer and it hasn’t yet happened.  Well, just in case we don’t get any curve balls, this is what we’ll be eating:

MONDAY

Grilled hot dogs, sauerkraut, and coleslaw. I am the worst coleslaw-maker.  Any suggestions?

TUESDAY

Not Really Stuffed Peppers, using a from memory/semi-made up recipe.  I take 2 cups of cooked rice, and mix with 1 pound of ground beef.  Then I cut up about a cup of jarred, roasted red peppers and mix together with the rice and beef.  I add 2 tablespoons of tomato paste, and then enough spaghetti sauce (just short of a regular sized jar) to make it casserole consistency.  I shred some Parmesan cheese on the top, and bake it at 350 for about 25 minutes. 

We’ll also have some green beans, they are looking good and popping up all over in the markets!

WEDNESDAY

Penne Rustica from Your Home Based Mom.

Cucumbers Caesar originally from Mom In Mental Motion.

THURSDAY

Vericheesey Casserole

Chips and some version of Mango Tango Black Bean Salsa.  I’m not really sure about the corn, seems like too much sweetness to me but I’ll give it a try.

FRIDAY

Something yummy with pine nuts, feta cheese, kalamata olives, cooked shredded beef and tomatoes.  I have all of these, I’m picturing something delicious but it might end up being along the lines of a Greek Island Skillet at Dennys.  Either way, it will use up some things that have been hanging around for a while that need to go 🙂

 I’ll also have a green salad and put garbanzo beans in it, just to further the illusion that I am good at cooking Mediterranean food.

I also want to make a blueberry dish so I’m going to try Blueberry Oat Coffee Cake from Life As Mom at some point this week. 

Head over here for more Menu Plan Monday.

12 Comments

Filed under Menu Plan Monday

12 responses to “Menu Plan Monday

  1. Oh my… the Mediterranean feast on Friday sounds totally yummy. I’m thinking some rice (or risotto if you’ve got it) would be perfect with all of those… have a super week!
    Angela

  2. yummy week planned.

    as for coleslaw….to make mine I chop up cabbage kinda fine and grate some carrots. Then I add about a TBSP of sugar and then just enough Miracle Whip to make the cabbage and carrots wet not where it is all clumped together or where it will be runny.

  3. Kiy

    A normal week? Heck, I haven’t had one of those in years! (lol)

    I too am looking for a great cole slaw recipe. If you find one (esp that doesn’t use mayo) I hope you post it! There is one that uses sugar, vinegar and oil that I really want (Gram used to make it). I really really would love that recipe. Do you put cole slaw on your hot dogs? We do, we love it that way!

    Have a great week, keep cool!

    Kiy

  4. when i need to make a quick east slaw i use: 1 bag of dole cole claw mix (already all chopped up) mixed with kraft cole slaw salad dressing, with a sprinkling of celery seed

    mix and refrigerate at least an hour

    🙂

  5. I love the sound of “Something Yummy”. I do enjoy (when i have the time) experimenting with some new combinations.

  6. The Cucumber Caesar is very similar to the creamy cucumbers I make. And stuffed green peppers sound really good. I might have to try and make those soon!

    Hope you have a wonderful week!
    Karen
    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/cookalatte
    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/salt
    http://www.homesteadblogger.com/tagblog

  7. Yum! Looks like a great menu and a great week! I love the not-stuffed peppers recipe, my husband would adore it! Good luck with your coleslaw . . . I made one recently that was Asian inspired, which was pretty good, and then I made a Latin-American sauerkraut recently and the sauerkraut won out in taste by far . . . both links are on my site (from MPM about two weeks ago) if you’re interested. Good luck!

    Best,
    Sarah

  8. Love the update on what has and hasn’t worked, saves time for me! I like a fluffy waffle too! I have never had this happen before, but seeing the “Zohan” movie, has completely ruined me on Hummus. Guess I’m getting older……

  9. Penne Rustica is my most favorite pasta dish ever! I will have to try this! Thanks!

  10. Nice menu. I like grilled hot dogs. The cucumber ceasar sounds yummy. Have a great week.

  11. I love the sound of vericheesey casserole, sounds like something right up my alley.

    Have a great week.

  12. Can you tell me how you shop for your weekly menus? Do you base your menus on what you have or do you plan your menus and then shop?

Leave a Reply

