Menu Plan Monday

Well, Monday has already almost come and gone and here I am, planning away.  I added a component to my menu that really threw me off.  I read other people’s menus, and they include – get this – not only dinners, but lunch. And breakfast. And SNACKS!! While I admired these amazing planners, I also kind of thought it was over the top.

I think I was just jealous.  I like having a plan, and I’m going to try it for all meals this week.  Breakfast and lunch are boring, but this is truly what I work from weekly so I’m going to include them too.  Quickly though, as I have to watch the Most Dramatic Rose Ceremony Ever soon.  It’s true. Against all odds, I LOVE the Bachelor/Bachelorette.  I just get weirder and weirder as this post goes on, don’t I?

TUESDAY

Breakfast: Pancakes (made during the Peequal Rights Movement), with blueberries as a side.

Lunch: Mac & Cheese for the kids, salad for me.  Applesauce as a side.

Dinner: Turkey Tacos.  Mix 1/2 lb. of browned ground turkey with this recipe for Lentils & Rice from Broad Horizons.  Serve on taco shells with all the regular fixin’s. My whole family loves this! It makes a ton.

Just so we can avoid utinsels entirely, I’ll serve with carrots, celery, and dip. We are also going to crack open a coconut, just for fun.  I don’t even know if it’s good to eat alone, but we’ll find out.

WEDNESDAY

Breakfast: Oatmeal with brown sugar and raisins.  I’m going to try this oatmeal soaking business that is all the rage these days, too.  Read more about it here in Keeper of the Home and Passionate Homemaking, two amazing women who I learn from every time I read their blogs.

Lunch: Grilled cheese sandwiches, carrots and celery.

DinnerBrunswick Stew, baked beans, tabouleh, and peach crisp.

THURSDAY

Breakfast: Cereal with milk

Lunch: Picnic Lunch with A.P.’s preschool; PB&J, carrots & celery, and sliced apples.

Dinner: Pizza with homemade crust and topped with olives and turkey peperoni, mixed green salad, and fresh strawberries for desert.

FRIDAY

Breakfast: Pancakes with blueberries as a side.

Lunch: Leftover pizza and sliced apples.

Dinner: Picnic!! Cold chicken (already cooked and frozen), cornbread (already made and frozen), coleslaw (Mann’s Broccoli SlawLitehouse Light Slaw Mix, and pine nuts), and banana pudding.

Snacks: apples & peanut butter, popcorn, bread with honey, carrots & celery with dip.

For more menu ideas, head over to Laura’s blog!

3 Comments

Filed under Menu Plan Monday

3 responses to “Menu Plan Monday

  1. Slowly, but surely you are inspiring me to plan my meals. But I still just want to come and eat at your house.

  2. Enjoy your soaked oatmeal! You’ll never go back to the “quick” kind after this. Yum! 🙂 (I’ve used rolled oats, but steel-cut are my favorite.)

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    Blessings,
    Michele
    http://www.frugalgranola.blogspot.com

  3. Your menu looks great!

    I keep forgetting to make homemade pizza! I must write that one down!

    I went to high school with Ron that is appearing on The Bachelorette! I had such a crush on him and had butterflies in my stomach last night seeing him 19 years later! I hope he lasts a while!

Leave a Reply

