Menu Plan Monday

We’re going to do things a little differently at our house this week.  Usually, we look at what we have, look at what we want to make, buy what we need, and also stock up on good deals.  This week, we are going to look at what we have, and make that work.  We’ll only buy the essentials (milk, maybe some a few veggies) this week.  This is hard because there are some good deals I really want to take advantage of.

The GRACE Hunger Walk, which raises money to fight hunger is this weekend, and my husband and I have decided to donate our weekly grocery budget.  It’s not that significant of an amount in the grand scheme of things, but the meaning is important to us and is a good reminder that no one who has as much food as we do should EVER say, “There’s nothing to eat!”.   

If you plan on popping by this week, just be forewarned; it could get a little interesting by Sunday 🙂

SUNDAY

Pizza Hot Dish.  I made a batch last week and there was too much so I froze half of it; the recipe I used is here.  We also had salad with home made croutons (using bread ‘scraps’). I also used some turkey pepperoni so it was really pizza-y.  For desert we had watermelon.

MONDAY

Cornish Hens.  I got these really cheap a while ago and still don’t know how to cook them. I’ll give this recipe a try.  We’ll also have brown rice and mixed veggies I cut up and steamed for a different meal, but didn’t use so I froze.  For desert we’ll have more watermelon.

TUESDAY

Another previously frozen meal from last week; Brunswick Stew.  This is a total cheater recipe; just one tub of Lloyds Chicken BBQ and one of Pulled Pork.  I added some corn I had frozen last summer and 2 cans of lima beans.  Anyone south of the Mason-Dixon line is throwing wads of paper at the computer right now 🙂  We will also have carrots and celery cut up, and dip.  For desert we are having popcicles made of yogurt, rasberries, honey and bananas just blended together.  It is a re-working of a failed fruit dip I tried to make this weekend.

WEDNESDAY

I am making a turkey.  I bought one very cheap around Easter and I don’t really know how to make it but I am just going to follow the directions.  It has one of those pop up timers, and everything.  I think this is my final frontier of domesticity.  We’ll also have applesauce, and peas.

THURSDAY

This is the biggest potential for failure.  I am going to try and make french bread; using the dough cycle in my bread maker and finishing it in the oven.  In continuing with my bad imitation of Southern Cuisine, I will call this, “I Swear I’m Not Mocking Mufaletta“.  I’m going to use that french bread (once baked) and cut it in half, then pour olive oil on it.  Once that sinks in, I will put some leftover green olive bruschetta and layer some turkey-ham lunchmeat and swiss cheese, then put the top half of the bread back on and bake it until the cheese melts.  We’ll also have a pretty beefy salad with hard boiled eggs and garbanzo beans.  Since we are having some young friends (2 and 4) over for dinner, we’ll have rootbeer floats for desert.

FRIDAY

I will give home made hamburger buns another try.  The last attempt ended up like bagels someone forgot to punch the middles out of and I went to  Great Harvest instead.

I’ll make black bean burgers, and also have hummus and carrots.  For desert we’ll have Apple-Oatmeal Bars.

SATURDAY

I’ll leave the Southerners alone and start messing with the Vietnamese now.  We’ll have Turkey Pho, and a salad with Carmelized Walnuts.  For desert we’ll have Apple Oat Bars if there are any leftover; and if not, we shouldn’t have eaten them all anyway 🙂

For more Menu Plan Monday, head over to Laura’s blog.

 

15 Comments

Filed under Menu Plan Monday

15 responses to “Menu Plan Monday

  1. Turkey – What I do is make sure to cover the turkey with cheese cloth. You might want to cut a whole for the little pop up thing. In the pan I add about a cup of margarine and a half cup or so of a white wine. Then I baste every 15 to 30 minutes. It will be delish!

  2. wow,i’m impressed with your wonderful meal plan for this week. It doesn’t matter if you donate $1 or $1,000,000 it’s the thought that counts..and I think that is a lovely gesture .If you have any q’s with cooking cornish game hens let me know ,hubby cooks them all the time & turkey too.. 🙂 have a blessed week..

  3. I have found that the pop up thing on the turkey pops up a little early. I’d let it go another 15-20 minutes after the pop up otherwise the meat is pink near the bone. Good Luck with the final frontier of domesticity! I’ll bookmark you so I remember to return and find out how the cornish hens and turkey turn out!!

  4. Yum! Looks like a great menu and a great week . . . you’re doing the two extremes of fowl, little cornish game hens to a big turkey! 🙂 Both are easy, so don’t worry! Just loosen the skin from the breast and put your favorite seasoning and fat (olive oil or butter) underneath the skin and massage a little on top and throw in some aromatics (like a lemon or apple or onion or a combo of all of the above) in the cavity and you’ll be good to go! If you want more ideas, especialy for the turkey, I recommend foodnetwork.com or marthastewart.com. Epicurious is also good, but sometimes is a bit extreme for what should be a simple meal. good luck!!

    Best,
    Sarah

  5. Your menu sounds great. Im making cornish hens this week as well. I mix herbs in some butter and stuff it under the skin. Then mix some orange juice concentrate and balsamic vinegar together and baste it over the hens. It’s sooo good! What a great deed by donating your grocery budget! 🙂

  6. What a great plan! I’m so impressed that you are donating your grocery budget. I might try that. Who knows – you might inspire all of us. It could be a revolution!!

    Sounds like you’ll be eating well either way – great job all around!

  7. How cool that you are giving away your grocery budget for the week !! It’s a great point you made about saying “we have nothing to eat” especially when our pantries are full !! I wonder, if I stopped buying groceries right now, how many meals I could make out of my pantry. Hmmm … I might have to think about that.

    Bonnie at The Beans Blog

  8. planningqueen

    I think that is such a fantastic idea to donate your food budget to a cause like that. I have been trying to think of ways that I can get my children to understand how lucky they are (without being to confrontational) and think this would really work.

  9. I think I am falling in love with you. Don’t worry. Not in a creepy way – just in an I’m Am More Impressed With You Every Post way. 🙂

  10. Your menu looks good!!

    I am going to cheer you on in making the french bread!!!! You can do it!!! It is very easy to do!! I have done it several times!!! Lookie here….http://glimpseofsonshine.blogspot.com/2008/02/french-breadbreadmachine.html

    Same thing with the turkey…I just follow directions with that and watch for the timer to pop up! 🙂

    Oh I wanted to let you know too…I was in your “neck of the woods” last week trying to get around the construction that is on 28th st. and 131…I drove up Eastern and right by JB’s! 🙂 Being over there reminded me of you…so you and your family were being prayed for on Wednesday around 5pm 🙂

  11. I love that you are resisting the urge to go to the store for stuff. I went to get groceries yesterday and forced myself to only shop the outside of the store for milk, bread, and lettuce etc. I am going to try a couple of these recipes this week. We have game hens every Easter. They are super easy. Just like a little whole chicken. And as for the turkey, those are super easy too just be sure to leave enough time if it still needs to unthaw a little. One time, I served the turkey 2 hours later than expected because it wasn’t totally thawed.

  12. this is my first time visiting your blog.
    I came via Meal Plan Monday but I was in stitches reading your menu, so I’m going to look around your blog a bit more! 😉

    Have a great week.
    Leeann
    niccofive.blogspot.com

  13. This is so cool. We could probably do this if I took better stock of what we have, but that seems like it would require a lot of effort.

  14. Pingback: A Little Update « Big Binder

  15. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday « Big Binder

Leave a Reply

