Earth Day Weekend

There are a few things going on around town to celebrate Earth Day this weekend.  I like to live on the edge, so I haven’t checked the weather, but I am going to try and make it to a few things for sure.

First, John Ball Zoo is having its Party For The Planet on Saturday from 10-3.  This was a lot of fun last year, and I’m sure it will only be bigger and better this year. 

Blandford Nature Center is having Homestead Days Saturday and Sunday.  So, for example, if you have just started reading Little House on the Prarie with your child and you want to give them an amazing visual aid, take them!

Also at Blandford on Sunday is a program called, “Dig In! Save the Country in the City.”  I am not sure I understand what this is all about, but the description looks interesting.  There will be horses, seed planting, and ecology tours. 

Now, this is a blog about Grand Rapids, but if you just happen to be in Kalamazoo this weekend, stop by the Kalamazoo Nature Center.  These people know how to do Earth Day. It’s a big event, really fun, and admission is free.  There are not many ‘free days’ at the KNC so take advantage of this incredible resource if you are there.  I’m not suggesting you drive down 131 just to see it though. Using all of that gas to attend an Earth Day event would be quite the irony, wouldn’t it? 

Need more details? Looking for more things to do this week? Head over to Big Binder’s Calendar!

6 Comments

Filed under Things to do Thursday

6 responses to “Earth Day Weekend

  1. I think I need to do this, cause this book is rocking Lily’s world. It is so difficult for her to wrap her brain around the 1800s. Let’s be honest, it is difficult for me. So cool!

  2. CLEAVERMAMA

    We will be at the zoo!

  3. I wish we weren’t super-busy this weekend – the KNC sounds cool!!

    Also – I’ve tagged you in the 6 random things game. Details are on my blog. 🙂

  4. Elaine

    Next weekend there’s another out-of-town even at Hoffmaster State Park http://members.tm.net/mcnc/Hoffmaster/Hoffmaster.htm

  5. Just got back from Blanford Nature center jazzed up to start a compost pile and grow some veggies. Thanks for the tip!

  6. Hi,
    I just tagged you for a Six Word Memoir at my blog!

Leave a Reply

