Feature Friday. Yes, I Know.

OK so it’s Saturday.  Does this mean tomorrow you can expect Something to Make Saturday, or Sanctuary Sunday?  I’d like to pretend I am trying to be suspensful and stir it up, but it’s much more mundane.  Just a few technical difficulties coupled with a late Griffins Game put me a whole day behind.  The lure of Dollar Beers and Dollar Dogs was just too much for us to resist.

Well, let’s get on with it then.  No news here; I am a huge library fan.  In addition to the excellent resources available to us from many different sources via Lakenet, did you know that you can actually use your library card to “check out” a ticket for admission to area attractions? Yep, that’s right.  An entire family can get into the Grand Rapids Children’s Museum, Meijer Gardens, John Ball Park Zoo and The Gerald Ford Museum for free? Sometimes symphony and opera tickets are available too!

Last year, we used a checked-out membership to visit Meijer Gardens around Christmas.  The cost for all of us to go would have been, well, a lot, so we felt very lucky that we could use the Library Pass. How it worked was that I got a pass at the Library, and just exchanged it for admission at the Gardens.  It was totally free.

Not much information is available online about this, so touch base with your local Grand Rapids Public Librarian for more details. At any given time there are a limited number of passes circulating, so also check to see when the pass for your attraction will be available.  I don’t know of KDL offering this program, but if anyone has information about it please let me know and I will post accordingly!

2 Comments

Filed under Feature Friday

2 responses to “Feature Friday. Yes, I Know.

  1. I smell a spa day !!! I think we told way too many people about it cause I called for a pedicure and they couldn’t get me in a single night next week. I had to bribe my mom to watch the girls Tuesday afternoon with…you guessed it, a ticket stub.

  2. Oh I wonder if KDL does have this program – it would be awesome! I’ll have to ask the next time I’m at the library. 🙂

Leave a Reply

