Look Ma, No Puking!

That’s right.  Yesterday afternoon A.P. had the nerve to start throwing up after I declared our home illness-free.  It went into the evening but we haven’t seen anything today.  Adding insult to injury (or infirmary), my husband woke up with the crud my kids have been dealing with all week so two steps forward, two steps back.

Prior to the Upchuck Festival, we did manage to make something fun.  It is edible play-dough.  Rest assured; I am certain there is no causal effect between eating the play dough and the intestinal distress for two reasons:

  1. A.P. didn’t eat any and threw up all afternoon.
  2. Maybelle ate about a pound of it, and didn’t have any problems.

In fact, it would appear that this concoction actually prevents vomiting. OK enough with that; on to the dough.

I got the recipe from Nature Moms.  Here is a link; there are also several other play dough recipes although not all of them are as tasty.  We used the Peanut Butter Play Dough recipe.  I know kids under a certain age aren’t supposed to have peanut butter or honey but I don’t know what age that is.  My kids ate both right from the start as infants and as you can see, are the picture of health.

I modified the recipe to:

  • 9 oz. peanut butter (1/2 a jar)
  • 3 tbsp. honey
  • 1/4 c. dried milk
  • 2 tsp cocoa powder

I mixed it all up and let the kids have at it.  I put down some more dried milk on the table so it didn’t stick (like you would with flour if you are rolling out or kneading dough).  I let them use my extremely random collection of cookie cutters:  a moose, a lizard, a flower, and one in the shape of the Great State of Michigan excluding the U.P. (Sorry my Yooper friend, Good Idea Momma.  Find me an anatomically correct Michigan Cookie Cutter and I will dispose of this one immediately.)

We really had fun with this.  I wish we could say the same for the rest of the day but I’m not going to complain. I’ll leave that to my grouchy, sick husband.

3 Comments

Filed under Something to Make Saturday

3 responses to “Look Ma, No Puking!

  1. When I find one, it’s yours!

  2. Oh no, more sick!!!! ARe you out for school tomorrow?

  3. Hi there, and thanks for stopping by The PreSchool Mama! I love your attitude to kids and food – I am not a big fan of being anal over what they can and can’t eat. Each child is different.
    I look forward to reading more from you!

Leave a Reply

