Menu Plan Monday

mpm12.jpg

This week will be all about making space in the freezer for all of the “Freezer Deals” at the grocery stores this week. For more Menu Plan Monday, check out “I’m an Organizing Junkie!”.  

MONDAY

I will be attempting to make a Bacon Quiche from this recipe, but instead use asparagus (I still have a ton in the freezer) because I am the only person in my family who will eat cooked spinach.  I’ll also serve it with a side of applesauce, because I have no idea what to serve with such a breakfast-y food.  And, I have a ton in the freezer.

TUESDAY

I’m just going to grill (George Foreman style) a steak and make some green beans – you guessed it, both from the freezer.  I will also make steak fries, which I just do by cutting up potatoes into ‘fry’ shape and put on a baking sheet, then put some olive oil and Lawry’s seasoning salt on them.

I got some Pillsbury Grands Homestyle Shortcake Biscuits last week, so I am going to bake those and put some strawberries I found in the freezer from June.

WEDNESDAY

Chicken Noodle Soup (I have it already made and frozen).

I will make yet another attempt at making my own bread.  It is not going so hot, any suggestions? I am trying to start it out in the bread machine, then bake it in the oven so it’s ‘normal’.  The texture etc are fine, it just tastes.. funny.

THURSDAY

Coalition meeting; dinner will be served.

FRIDAY

I’m recycling the stuffed shells recipe from last Friday, because I just made tuna fish sandwiches for the kids last Friday since my husband was out of town. I know, welcome to my house during lent. Don’t be jealous. 

I’ll serve it with a salad.

SATURDAY

I have to spend a good part of the day power shopping at Younkers.  I bought some of those Community Day Event coupons from the Mayweather Foundation and if I am too tired, we’ll just order pizza.  If I am exhilarated from my shopping success, I will make a roast turkey.  Again, because I have another one – you got it – in the freezer. Only time, and the crowd at Younkers Saturday, will tell.

8 Comments

Filed under Menu Plan Monday

8 responses to “Menu Plan Monday

  1. planningqueen

    The stuffed shells, sounds like a quick but tasty and family friendly meal. Have a great week.

  2. I’m definately going to give that chicken noodle soup recipe a try. Love steak & home-made fries.

  3. happyhousewife

    What exactly does funny taste like? Are you using white or wheat flour? Maybe you are using too much yeast? That can give bread a funny taste…

  4. I do the “fries” too, but I use Jane’s Crazy Mixed up Salt. Miss you.

  5. happyhousewife

    How big is your freezer 😉
    It seems like you have a ton of stuff in it. I am looking into buying a chest freezer this summer so I can do more bulk buying and cooking.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog.
    Blessings~

  6. I like to serve fruit and crescent rolls with my quiche.

    Sorry your bread isn’t turning out. Stay tuned for my bread extravaganza!

  7. Jen,

    Here you go… I’ll have to post the recipe to the blog. These are SUPER yummy. Enjoy

    Stacked Enchiladas

    Ingredients:
    1 pound ground beef
    1 onion, chopped
    1 bell pepper, chopped
    1 pouch taco seasoning mix
    1 can pinto beans, drained and rinsed
    1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
    1 can Rotel chopped tomatoes with chiles
    1 cup shredded cheddar
    1 cup shredded Monterey Jack
    6 flour tortillas (6 in. diameter)

    Directions:

    In large skillet, cook ground beef, onion and pepper until meat is no longer pink. Break up any large chunks. Drain fat. In same skillet, add pinto beans, black beans, tomatoes with chiles, taco seasoning, and water according to seasoning package directions. Bring to a boil, cover and simmer 10 minutes.

    Combine cheddar and jack cheeses.

    In 5 qt. crockpot, place one tortilla on bottom. Place about 3/4 cup beef mixture on tortilla, and 1/3 cup cheese mixture on top of beef mixture. Top with tortilla. Keep going until you’ve stacked 6 tortillas. End with beef mixture and more shredded cheese.

    Cook on low for 4-6 hours.

  8. I’ve only been making my own bread for a few months. I’m still a rookie. It helps to have a good recipe. I tried 3 before I found one that tasted right and I can’t screw up. 🙂

    I mix it in my stand mixer, let it rise in the oven and then knead by hand and add more flour.

    I’ll post my recipe on my blog.

Leave a Reply

