Change of Plans

Woman looking at calendarI had planned to bring you a delightful post after our trip to Pizza Hut today for Tasty Tuesday.  The fun part about the one we go to (Kalamazoo and 44th) is that it has a little play area, so if you go with a friend, as I was planning to do, you can actually have a decent conversation while the kids play.

For the millionth time this winter, the weather interferred.  So I have nothing tasty to share with you, sadly. 

Later, my husband came home and announced that he was going to St. Louis for work tomorrow and his plane leaves at 6am.  I laughed and said I would take him to the airport, ’cause that would be funny, wouldn’t it? To get the kids up at 4am to start the next 5 days of alone time with the kids? I didn’t think so either.

I immediately ran to the grocery store, and to Blockbuster to stock up.  My husband had to run a few errands as well.  Then his car died. I immediately called him a taxi for the morning. Even the taxi guys said, “Man, that’s EARLY!”.  Yes, yes it is.  Which is why I will still be in bed.

So I’m going to apologize in advance for any bloggy crabbiness over the next week.  It’s the weather, and my husband being out of town, and possibly mercury poisoning.  OK probably not the last one.

But did you hear about this? The Southeast YMCA was evacuated yesterday because of a mercury leak.  Yep, I was there, plugging away on the elliptical machine.  Someone came around and very calmly and politely asked us to finish up, and explained the circumstances.  I hopped off, grabbed Maybelle from the nursery, and flew out into the parking lot a sweaty mess.  What a way to start the week!

5 Comments

Filed under Tasty Tuesday

5 responses to “Change of Plans

  1. That stinks. Although I will say I was out and about today for a taste test and MOPS and although the weather was bad in spots it was very weird. It would go from white out to clear and sunny in seconds. So I braved it and went about my merry way.

  2. Elaine

    My helpful hint for when Daddy’s out of town – DO NOT SERVE SUPPER TOO EARLY! the night will drag on and on if you give in to the temptation to eat at 4:30!

  3. goodideamomma

    He’s not going to St. Louis for work. He’s meeting up with Ricardo. Even I can see that one!

  4. I heard about the Y yesterday. That was nice of them to tell you calmy to finish up – at least it wasn’t a stampeede to get out of there. I agree with good idea momma – I bet hubs will meet up with Ricardo for drinks 🙂

  5. Oh I heard about the Y, but not the details. Wow, scary…

    Hmm, I never knew the Pizza Hut at 44th and K’zoo has a play area! We have one less than a mile away from our house, but it might be worth it to drive farther for that… 🙂

    Good luck this week!

Leave a Reply

