Meme Catch Up

OK I have been remiss in my meme-playing lately, so I am going to take this opportunity to catch up with a few I have been tagged with.

Bear in mind that as I do this I will be running to the bathroom approximately every 17 seconds. No, I am not sick.. Maybelle has made it abundantly clear that I cannot put off potty training her for one more second. Ever the opportunist, she has decided today is the day. A fine choice, since we are very much snow and iced into our house.

First, “Hey Did You Have That Baby Yet?” Adventure Mom tagged me for the “Mommy Meme.”

How long have you been a Mom?
4 and a half years
How many children call you Mommy?
2

Girl? Boy? or both?:

While we are somewhat lacking in financial riches, we have the million dollar family.  First a boy, then (almost exactly) two years later, a girl.

Did you know what you were having?
Yes, although with Maybelle they weren’t sure from the 20 week ultrasound.  After a fall at about 26 weeks I spent a day in OB Triage and begged the ultrasound tech to do a gender check which confirmed it. 

How old were you when you became a Mom?
32

How long were you in labor?
24 hours with A.P., and a (relatively) brief 12 hours with Maybelle.

What’s your favorite thing about being a Mom?
The purpose I feel in my life.

What’s your least favorite thing?
Whining.  Mostly theirs, but I’ll own this.. mine too.

Do you want more kids?
I did for a while after Maybelle was born, but not now.

Do you plan on having more soon?
Nope.

How many times have you been pee’d on?
I lost track.

Barfed on?

No, of both children only A.P. has thrown up.  This happened one time, and was on my husband.

Is your child named after anyone?

Maybelle’s middle name is the same as my mom’s and grandma’s.  A.P.’s middle name is the same as my husband’s.
How did you come up with their name?
I came up with both of them.  My husband thought they were too ‘preppie’ but now he likes them.

When your child gets in trouble, who is the bad guy?
Thankfully, my husband and I share this pretty well. 

What is the longest you have been away from your children?
When A.P. was about 18 months old, we went on a 4 day cruise.

Bedtime routine?
Brush teeth, read books, then go to bed.
Are your toes painted?
Not right now, but they should be.

Last movie you saw in the theater?
I am spacing on this right now. I can’t remember.

One thing you will not give up just because you’re a mom?
Mommy poops alone.  This is a well known rule in my house and seldom broken.
One thing you did give up now that you’re a mom:
The notion that car travel would be quiet and somewhat relaxing.

Best Mom perk:
Showing them the world and knowing that I have a small window to teach them what I want them to know before they stop listening to me. 

Snack, you sneak bites from your child?
No, not usually.

When the kid is napping, you are:
Trying to do things that are annoying with children ‘helping’, such as emptying the dishwasher.

Where is your child(ren) now?

I have no idea! Just kidding.  They are 1) on the potty and 2) jumping off the back of a chair.

Favorite place to buy maternity clothes?
I got most of my maternity clothes at Goodwill, Salvation Army, or garage sales.  Fortunately, I was pregnant the same time of year both times so I was pretty much set after the first round.

If I could do it over…

I would start younger.  I’m tired.

*****************************************************

Next, The Diaper Diaries tagged me for a “5 Things” meme. This is difficult for me, because I love to travel, but I am supposed to name my top 5 places, so here goes:

Seoul, South Korea

1.  Seoul and Pusan, South Korea.  Amazing cities. Seoul is huge and exciting and Pusan is on the coast and more relaxed. I visited Seoul about 5 times (hey thanks Dad!) and really enjoyed it. 

Jackson Hole Photo2. Jackson Hole, Wyoming.  For some reason, this has always stuck in my mind as a remarkable place.  It is beautiful; snuggled into the mountains and the Snake River runs through it.

Cuba3. Key West, Florida.  Every year my family went to Florida for Christmas and my sister and I took a road trip down to Key West.  In the ‘getting there is half the fun’ category, we zoomed through the Everglades; ever vigilant for those alligators we were sure awaited us around every corner.  Then we spent the day strolling about this cool town.   My husband and I spent our honeymoon there in an awesome beach house and planned on returning for our first anniversary.  Instead, we spent in church baptizing our baby boy (I waited a full six weeks after getting married to get pregnant.)   Sadly, this is as close as I will probably ever get to Cuba; an obsession I don’t think I’ve introduced here yet.

Picture of Toronto and the Space Needle - picture courtesy of www.math.toronto.edu4. Toronto, Ontario.  I LOVE TORONTO.  It is the only truly American city, except it’s in Canada.  It is a melting pot that manages to allow cultures to retain their identity while still getting along.  What a concept.

Traditional Dutch dancing, music and other activeties.5. Amsterdam, Holland.  I spent a summer in Germany and took a trip up to Amsterdam.  Germany was awesome, but Amsterdam was crazy. A little overwhelming even.  For any of the Dutchies in West Michigan who think the ‘real’ Holland is in any way conservative or religious you should probably not plan a visit to the homeland.

If you are reading and you think these sound like fun memes, consider yourself tagged!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Meme Catch Up

  1. I envy the pooping alone thing. Or frankly doing anything in the bathroom alone…

Leave a Reply

