National Pie Day

The Winter BazaarWell, Tasty Tuesday was cancelled yesterday on account of we got about 11 thousand feet of snow and I couldn’t get out of my driveway. We made it a “day in”, and I ignored the phone and email and just hung out with my kids and played games.  Don’t get me wrong, I was itching for adult conversation but they are pretty persistent kids and I gave in.  I’m glad I did.  We eventually did get out of the house, when my husband came home and hit the driveway with the snowblower.  Our big outing was a family trip to the gym which we badly needed after an entire day inside.  We Binders are not ones to sit still.

So here we are, celebrating a very important holiday. Oh yes, leave it to me to know that today is National Pie Day according to the American Pie Council.  Leave it to me to know that there is an American Pie Council.   Have I successfully eliminated any doubt that I am a complete dork? I thought so.  You can read all about it on the APC’s website. Curiously, Canadians are involved in our National Pie Championship. Just another example of foreigners taking our jobs away. Why this isn’t an issue in this year’s presidential campaigns I will never know; but let’s move on.

Rich Pecan PieI am going to make a pecan pie today, and I’ll share the recipe with you. First, a disclaimer. I am a good cook, and this is a big source of pride for me.  However, I am completely unable to make the following:

  • Any variety of Thai food, including but definitely not limited to noodles
  • Pancakes – they turn out like crêpes (more on this in a moment)
  • Pie crusts

Therefore, I will use the rolled up kind of crust. Trust me – it is better for everyone. If you are a pie crust purist you  already know how to roll your own so I won’t bother being a poser and supplying a recipe.

This is a good recipe. I know, because I just made it at Thanksgiving.  I gave a nod to my dual heritage at this meal.  I showed up with a baked Brie in one hand (Belgian and French side – hence the crêpes) and a pecan pie in the other (Appalachian American side).

For the recipe, I went straight to the source.  It’s from the Karo Syrup website.  Feel no shame in this my friends; corn syrup belongs in pecan pies. Not in crackers and pizza sauce and everything else you eat but in pies it’s fine.

Pecan Pie

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup light or dark corn syrup
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1-1/2 cups (6 ounces) pecans
  • 1 (9-inch) unbaked deep-dish pie crust

Preheat oven to 350°F.
Beat eggs slightly with fork in medium bowl. Add sugar, corn syrup, butter and vanilla; stir until blended. Stir in pecans. Place pie dough in pie pan. Pour pecan filling into pie crust.
Bake 55 to 60 minutes or until knife inserted halfway between center and edge comes out clean. Cool on wire rack.

For more winter-y ideas, head over to Scribbit’s Winter Bazaar.

7 Comments

Filed under Winter Bazaar

7 responses to “National Pie Day

  1. amber m.

    Yummy! Pecan pie AND ignoring the phone? Bliss.

    Pie crusts were also my nemesis, until this past Thanksgiving when I got an EASY recipe from a lady I go to church with. It is no-fail.

    Oil Pastry

    2 cups flour
    1 1/2 tsp. salt
    1/2 cup oil
    5 Tbsp. cold water

    Sift together flour and salt. Pour oil and cold water into measuring cup (do not stir). Add all at once to flour mixture. Stir lightly with fork–don’t overstir! Form into 2 balls and flatten slightly.
    Roll each between 2 pieces of waxed paper (wet counter slightly with water so the waxed paper won’t slip). Roll dough into circle until large enough to fill pie plate. Peel off top waxed paper and place dough, paper side up, into pie plate and finish edge. Add filling and bake. This makes 2 pie crusts, or one pie with top crust.

    Happy National Pie Day!

  2. National Pie Day? How did i not know about this? Looks like we will be having pie for dinner and dessert tonight (chicken pot pie). Sadly I don’t have any pecans. I LOVE pecan pie with a scoop of good vanilla ice cream on top. I guess I will just have to make do with pumpkin. Thanks for the recipe, though.

  3. Silly Sister-in-law

    You must have had your ears ringing, I made an apple pie last night!! Yummy!!!

  4. Oh, pecan pie is one of my favorites! I might just have to try making this sometime… 🙂

  5. You know I finally discovered refrigerated pie crusts this year and I wondered why I’d ever messed and struggled all those years to make the homemade kind. Too much work, not enough payoff.

  6. Tagged you for a meme. Come play!

Leave a Reply

