Sanctuary Sunday – A Cry For Help!

Solar_system.jpgToday in the car, A.P. asked me which planet was the hottest and coldest (he meant the biggest temperature range).  Um, you know what, I can’t remember.  Then he asked me how many rings Saturn had. Well, I’m not sure about that. How long would it take to get to Neptune? I had to confess that Mommy worked very hard for a “C” in Fun With Astronomy and Physics or some such non-science major class in college and I really didn’t know.  I couldn’t even remember for sure why Pluto got demoted from being a real planet.

How does he know all about this stuff? He said it was from Blues Clues.  Of course; I should have known! 

After an unsuccesful attempt to find “Something to Make Saturday” that will bridge the gap between my very poor understanding of all matters planetary and my son’s quest for knowledge, I have decided to ask you all for help!

Please give me your best suggestions for helping a 4 year old to understand the solar system. I’m up for anything; books, crafts, activites, whatever.  Bear in mind that I have serious shortcomings in this area, so keep it simple enough for Mom 🙂

Thank you!

6 Comments

Filed under Sanctuary Sunday, Something to Make Saturday

6 responses to “Sanctuary Sunday – A Cry For Help!

  1. Clare had some questions about the planets, especially after her preschool unit on it. The planetarium has a great kids show on the universe/planets…I don’t know if it’s a special field trip show or not (as that’s when we saw it) but it’d be fun to add onto a visit to the museum. We also got some books from the library to learn together (more like for me to remember), as well as did some internet searching.

  2. We’d join you anyday for a visit to the planetarium. It’s free Sat. Jan 19th all day. I think that we might go. I also have a bunch of books on the solar system that you can borrow from my teaching days. Michaels and Hobby Lobby have a few great solar system 3-D kits that you can make as well. Also, little Anson over there at Look, Mom, Look might also have some ‘rocket’ insight. You should check with them!! 🙂 Ok, that’s all I got!

  3. thediaperdiaries

    My advice, stop letting him watch Blue’s Clues so he won’t ask anymore questions.

  4. Hey Jen,

    When I am faced with these types of tough questions, I turn to one of my favorite resources — Scholastic.com. They have tons of activities that parents can do with their kids on almost any subject. I searched “solar system” and found that they have several activities for PreK-K kids. They even have a solar system floor puzzle 🙂 Here’s the link:

    http://www2.scholastic.com/browse/search.jsp?query=solar+system&c17=8&x=0&y=0

    Hope this helps!

    Jill

  5. Megan

    Check out “Solar System Safari” at the Roger B. Chaffee Planetarium at the VanAndel Museum. I took my daughter last week. Great show. All those questions AP has will be answered…and then some. I think the show is most weekdays till 2pm. It is $3 per person over 3 plus museum admission but if you go on Monday when it is free for GR residents you will just have the planetarium fee. Great show specifically for children but very informative.

  6. Elaine

    The Planet Walk at Aquinas might help him with scale.
    http://www.aquinas.edu/planetwalk/index.html
    (and it’s free)

Leave a Reply

