Free Skiing for Fourth Graders

winterfeelsgood.comI am not even going to pretend for one single second that I enjoy outdoor winter sports.  Growing up, I was in ski club, but only for the social aspect.  Once I collected my lift ticket and attached it to my coat zipper (for some reason, this was a fashion statement back then) I mostly hung out in the lodge and drank hot chocolate. We also had an ice skating rink in town and I went, of course, because everyone else did.  I spent the majority of the time in the hot house giggling with the other middle school girls about the boys who were there playing hockey. It also afforded me the opportunity to wear one of about 25 pair of legwarmers which I LOVED and would still wear if I could get away with it. 

I know I am in the minority here, and most families in these parts like to ski, or skate, or snowshoe, or snowboard.  The Michigan Snowsports Industries Association is giving fourth graders a Ski & Ride Passport for three free lift tickets at a participating ski area.  Cannonsburg is on the list.

The kids have to be accompanied by a paying adult, and there is a $15 processing fee.  Being as I have no idea what a lift ticket costs, I can’t assess if this is a good deal or not. If you can, and you are interested, click on the MSIA’s website here and check it out. I know there is not a single flake of snow on the ground right now but just wait… it’s not over yet.

2 Comments

Filed under Thank Goodness it's Free

2 responses to “Free Skiing for Fourth Graders

  1. I’ve lived here my entire life…and I’m right there with ya on the winter sports thing. I’d much rather be inside in the warm!

Leave a Reply

