One Week Later

I can’t believe that a week ago, I was in The Lou visiting the 3inunder3 family and having an awesome time.  Upon arrival I was immediately given a glass of wine and within a very short time was being booed off the stage while playing “Guitar Hero“.

Nathan and A.P.’s reunion was the sweetest thing.  Eight months is a long time for 4 year olds not to see each other, but in no time they were zooming around like old times and even incorporated something new.  That would be peeing ‘Criss Cross Applesauce‘ together.  Yes, it’s exactly what it sounds like.

One week ago today, we toured the Anheuser Bush brewery.  We took the kids – all five of them.  Their favorite part was the horses.  My favorite part was confirming what I already suspected – that Budweiser is 92% water.  I knew it.

There is also a tasting room.  No, the kids can’t drink beer there.  But adults can.  I was able to try Anheuser Bush’s attempt at a Belgian White; ‘Shock Top’.  It was weird and watered down and made my Belgian DNA quiver a little so I switched over to “Michelob Ultra Fruit Infused” and stuck with that.

We also stopped by Gus’ Pretzels. It is kind of like watching Krispy Kreeme donuts being made, you see the actual production through the glass and then go eat them. Why is that so fun? I have no idea; I just know it is.

We had lunch at Sybergs and with that came two more of St. Louis’s edible icons; T-Rav and Provel cheese pizza.  Loved the toasted ravioli; not so much the pizza. It was like eating 5 pounds of white Velveeta on a really thin crust pizza. I did thoroughly enjoy being able to drink Fat Tire (I had it in Denver before it was cool.  I swear.)  with it though after the beer-weirdness at the brewery.

egg cartonSo anyway, what does this have to do with children’s crafts? Very little, except that I am still doing laundry, sorting Christmas decorations, and have un-wisely chosen this particular time to scrub my house from top to bottom.  I don’t have time for anything too involved right now, so I will share A.P.’s recent craft discovery – egg carton sculptures.  He asked for an empty egg carton because he wanted to ‘recycle it and make something new’.  Fiskars in one hand and Elmer’s in the other, and he had a creation that was not much to look at (but I think that sometimes at Meijer Gardens too.  Shh, don’t tell), but kept him quiet, busy, and captivated for about an hour. And really, what more can we ask for in a craft?

5 Comments

Filed under Something to Make Saturday

5 responses to “One Week Later

  1. debmomof3

    That sounds like such a fun trip! 🙂

  2. Did the adult children (husbands) also enjoy the beer factory tour?

  3. hotomom

    I am so glad you enjoyed our lovely St. Lou sites. Come back soon!!!

  4. Pingback: Happy New Year! « Big Binder

  5. Pingback: Oohh! St. LOU! « Big Binder

Leave a Reply

