Let’s Flop Along Together

It is with great hesitation that I write this post. Not because I don’t think this is good information; it is. It is because in the interest of trying to be the person my blog thinks I am, I have to embark on this journey if I want to be legit.

I love organization. I love plans. I named my blog after an organizational device, and won the “Franklin Planner Momma” award from my mother’s group at our banquet last year.  If it weren’t for this husband, kids, and dog everything would be fine. The hard part is staying on top of things when it seems that the rest of my family is sucking me into a vortex of disorganization.

So with that said, let me tell you about Flylady.  I’ll bet many of you have heard of her. Some of you may even be what is know as ‘flying’.  I’ll start at the beginning though, for anyone who might be new to this whole business.

Flylady is a woman who helps others to organize their homes, and ultimately their lives.  It is a very, very good system and the best part is that you start in baby steps so it isn’t overwhelming. Over time, you develop habits that keep your home and life organized.  My favorite part of the whole thing is getting rid of clutter.  I hate hate hate clutter and love being reminded to get it out of my house.

If you feel like you need some guidance in the ‘keeping it together’ area, check out her website.  Please do so with the following caveats:

  1. It’s sort of hokey.  It took me a while to get used to this, but once I got past it I was fine.
  2. It can be a little ‘in your face’.  On a day that you just do NOT need anyone in your face; just delete the emails and jump back on the next day.
  3. There are about a zillion emails. They are reminders and kind of get you going and keep you on track.  If this drives you insane, just switch to a journal format (instructions are on the site) and that cuts way down.

So today is the day.  I was flying right along for a while there… then I just flew away.  I’m starting over with day one, and invite anyone who is interested to join me!

5 Comments

Filed under Sanctuary Sunday

5 responses to “Let’s Flop Along Together

  1. Um…did I already say “Let’s go…?” I can’t remember. I’m so disorganized!

  2. thediaperdiaries

    Her email overload is why I stopped her. You should start your own fly lady and chill on the emails. I will be your first victim, I mean customer.

  3. I love flylady. I swear. The kitchen sink thing changed my life! AND I have an award for you. 🙂

  4. canearl

    I did Flylady too and I’m totally off the wagon. It is a great system- I just found something that works better for me. I found this- http://www.motivatedmoms.com/ off of someone elses blog and for $8 you can find the system that works for you and print it out. I’m big on checklists so I like to be able to physically check it off each day. It also reminds you to take your vitamins, excercise, fill your pets bowls- stuff like that. The best part is- no emails!

Leave a Reply

