Menu Plan Monday

 Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I have a part time, seasonal job for a few weeks.  Mr. Binder will be preparing and serving all of the meals while I am at work.  I am doing my best to make it easy on him.  I will get things started before he gets home and try to keep the preparation to a minimum.

I’ll keep the sides simple and just decide that day; probably a lot of rice, potatoes, salad and frozen vegetables.  

Monday

Stromboli (or is it a Calizone?)

  • Morningstar Farms Philly Cheese Steak Burgers
  • 1 loaf frozen bread dough
  • 1 14.5 oz can pizza sauce
  • 8 oz mozzarella cheese, shredded

Let Philly Cheese Steak burgers thaw.  Dice burgers. Roll bread dough out into a large circle.  On one half of the circle, spread sauce on dough; then layer diced burger and cheese.  Fold other half of dough over and seal with a few drops of water.  Bake on pizza pan in 400 degree oven for 30 minutes.

Tuesday

Anna's Chicken EnchiladasEnchiladas

I made these a while ago, and have them in the freezer.  The recipe is here.

I am also going to make Pumpkin Bread Pudding from a recipe I got from Smitten Kitchen via Mama Sutra .  I am very, very excited to make this…

Wednesday

Hash Brown Quiche Hash Brown Quiche (I froze it a while ago;  recipe is here)

Thursday

Roasted chicken

  • 3-4 pound whole chicken
  • 2 lemons
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 tablespoon coarse salt
  • 1 cup chicken broth

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Remove the giblets and any fat from the chicken cavity. Roll the lemons on the counter with your hand to soften them, then prick thoroughly with a fork, going all the way through the rind to the flesh.
In a small bowl, mash the garlic with the salt until a paste forms. Rub half this paste inside the chicken and then stuff the lemons into the cavity. Rub the remaining paste on the outside of the chicken. Place in a shallow roasting pan, on a rack (you can use sliced onions for a rack for even more flavor), pour the chicken broth around the chicken, and roast for 60-65 minutes, until a meat thermometer inserted into the thickest part of the thigh registers 180 degrees F, juices run clear when pricked with a fork, and the drumstick moves easily in its socket. Cover the chicken and let rest for 10 minutes before carving. Serve with the pan juices (don’t eat the lemons!).

This recipe is from About Busy Cooks.

Friday

Ravioli

ravioliI have a package of Buitoni 100% whole wheat four cheese ravioli in the freezer; so this plus a can of sauce even Mr. Binder can do 🙂

Click here for more Menu Plan Monday.

 

 

15 Comments

Filed under Menu Plan Monday

15 responses to “Menu Plan Monday

  1. Oh!! The pumpkin bread pudding is WONDERFUL!! I made it with raisin pecan bread (just from the grocery store, not any fancy bakery), and loved it, but it’s the custard that makes this. Yum!

  2. stromboli is so delicious!! What a wonderful meal plan–have a wonderful week.

  3. Wow, you have a lot of pre-prepared good stuff! I wish I could plan ahead that well.

  4. Great Menu!!!
    Have a grand week!
    🙂

  5. Great menu! Have a good week!

    Lisa

  6. Your menu sounds so good! Im making enchiladas this week too. Have a great week!

  7. Pumpkin bread pudding sounds really good!!…actually everything does!!

  8. Hi.The whole week sounds so great and clever you for planning ahead!!! that’s what I need to do too..Have a great week..:)

  9. You have a great sounding menu for this week. Enjoy!

  10. Everything looks and sounds delicious! Thanks for the recipes. And kudos to your husband for doing the cooking!!

  11. Man, your roasted chicken sounds DIVINE!

  12. For the spaghetti chicken there’s no official recipe. Since it’s just me, my hubby and toddler I just use a 6 oz breast of chicken and one can of tomato soup. I add a little water. Then I just put in the cheeses and spices to taste. Once it’s ready I shred the chicken. I toss the sauce with angel hair (hubby likes it better than regular spaghetti noodles). If it seems like there’s not quite enough sauce I add a little bottled sauce. 🙂

  13. Wow – That calzone/stromboli thing looks absolutely delicious! Those are all great recipe ideas.

    In response to your question about Savings Angel – I really did like doing it. Our pantry, fridge, freezer, hall closet and spare bedroom were stuffed with things. Plus we gave a lot away to our church’s food pantry. I was so excited every week when I’d come home with things I got for free or next to free.

    The problem is that now I took a second job, and so I really don’t have time to do it. I know we’re spending more on groceries than we need to now, but I don’t have time to clip all the coupons and organize the list now. So we do the ‘ol go through and grab what we need routine now. I hate it because I know we could be doing better, but trying to keep up with the savings was getting stressful.

    So if you have a little extra time during the day, I would highly recommend it, but understand that it does take extra work.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! And also for the great meal ideas! Yum…

  14. The enchiladas look great! A really great menu .Have a great week!

  15. Thanks for stopping by my blog and for the Christmas ideas- I really appreciate it.
    I can’t wait to try your recipe for the stromboli- my whole family likes it so that would be a hit!

Leave a Reply

