Menu Plan Monday

I am happy to report that last week’s, um, creative menu was a big hit. I am not as happy to report that my husband was even more delighted with our $0.00 grocery bill for the week, and asked if I could do it again.

Probably not without a few purchases… we are entirely out of fresh produce, as I used up the last of the apples up tonight in a little number I will call “Apple Crisp-obbler“.  I peeled and cut up about 5 apples, then put them in a bowl with two handfulls of sugar (less than a cup. It’s hard to hold sugar) and a few good shakes of cinnamon, and then a little bit of nutmeg and a pinch of ground cloves. I set it off to the side while I mixed up about a cup (whatever was left in the box) of Jiffy Mix, with two pouches of some oatmeal with almonds no one liked. It’s the instant kind. I threw that in with about 1/4 stick (3 tbsp?) of melted Crisco. I greased a pie dish and put the apples in there, then the oatmeal/Jiffy Mix on next.  I baked it at 350 for about 20-25 minutes.  It was good!

I will dive in again and use what is hanging out in the freezer and on the shelf already. Fortunately two dinners will be away from home, so it will be pretty easy!

Here goes:

MONDAY

Peking Pork Chops

Crock Pork Roast with Sherry Plum Sauce

  • 4 lb. pork boneless loin roast (I only have pork chops but will give it a go anyway)
  • 2 T. vegetable oil
  • 1 C. dry sherry
  • 1 T. ground mustard (dry)
  • 2 T. soy sauce
  • 1 1/2 t. dried thyme leaves
  • 1 1/4 t. ground ginger
  • 1 t. salt
  • 1/4 t. pepper
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1/2 C. plum jam (OK another substitution.  I have duck plum sauce in my ‘fridge.  I have no idea what I was going to make with it but it’s goin’ in the crock pot now.)

Trim excess fat from pork. Heat oil in skillet over medium high heat. Cook pork in oil, about 10 minutes, turning occasionally, until brown on all sides. Place pork in crockpot.

Mix remaining ingredients except jam; pour over pork.

Cook on low 7 to 9 hours or until pork is tender. Remove pork from crockpot. Cover and keep warm.

Skim fat from juices in crockpot. Stir jam into juices. Cover and cook on high about 15 minutes or until jam is melted. Stir. Serve sauce with pork.

This recipe is adapted from one one That’s My Home.

Served with asparagus, frozen this summer.

TUESDAY

My Spooky Meal.

WEDNESDAY:

Sloppy joes that I do not have to make.  Grandma likes to see the kids in their costumes, so she serves it up on Halloween.

THURSDAY:

Chicken and Rice With Veggies

Cut two boneless, skinless chicken breasts into bite sized pieces.  Sautee in olive oil until browned.  Add a bag of frozen vegetables, thawed and mix until heated through.  Add two cups of cooked rice and stir to mix.  Add 1 can of fat free cream of chicken soup and 1/2 can of water.  Turn heat to low and simmer until incorporated.

FRIDAY:

Dinner at my sister’s church. I am going to make an appetizer.

Peeling Hard Boiled Eggs Huevos Endiablados

  • 6 hardboiled eggs, peeled
  • 2 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon fresh lime juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoons capers, chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt, or to taste
  • chili powder, to taste
  • Cilantro sprigs

Cut the eggs in half lengthwise. Remove the yolks and put them in a bowl. Mash well and mix in the mayonnaise, lime juice, cumin, capers and salt. Fill the egg-white halves equally with the yolk mixture. Sprinkle lightly with chili powder.

Arrange on a serving plate. Garnish with cilantro. Serve cold.

This recipe is from Recipe Goldmine.

For more Menu Plan Monday, check out I’m an Organizing Junkie!

6 Comments

Filed under Menu Plan Monday

6 responses to “Menu Plan Monday

  1. Great menu!! Love your creativity. I can’t imagine a $0.00 grocery bill for a week!! You should win an award for that!!
    have a great week!

  2. Your halloween meal is too cute! Have a great week!

  3. great plan and I love the recipes you posted too.

  4. I just love that pizza! I think I will have to try that pork recipe too. Happy Hallowe’en Week!

  5. I know what you mean about how it feels so good to have accomplished something like your zero spending week–and then realizing what a precedent you’ve set! LOL!

    Oh, well!

  6. I’ll have to give your Chicken with Veggies and Rice a try next week. Sounds like something my family would enjoy.

Leave a Reply

