Lansing – A Nice Place To Visit

But I didn’t wanna live there. I grew up near Lansing, then moved back for a brief time as an adult. It is not my cup of tea.

So what on earth would bring me to Lansing two weeks in a row? We are going today, as well as next week.  My sister, primarily.  She still lives in the area (and is very happy; thank you very much). 

Today we are going to see a Lansing Library literacy program. I know; a library event. What a surprise.  Among the activites is an opportunity to meet someone my children absolutely love:

Super Why!”.  It’s a PBS show (about reading – hence the library promoting TV) created by the same person who did Blues Clues.  I have mentioned before, and will undoubtedly mention again, that I love Blues Clues. Blue and Steve from Blue's CluesSome day, I will devote an entire post to why Steve is SO much better than Joe; but for now I will restrain myself.

Our second trip will be to celebrate Día de los Muertos at my sister’s church. It’s a Mexican tradition and it means Day Of The Dead.  People who have died are remembered by their friends and family.  Her church will have an altar (part of the custom) set up to leave food and treats, or little things the dead people enjoyed while they were alive.  It is a nice way to remember and honor someone who has died in a fun, and not sad way.  It’s a big party.

For the kids, we are going to make a “Paper Bag Monster Piñata”.  The supplies are things we already have on hand (always a plus). There are very good, detailed instructions here

The end result looks like this:

The only things you need to make it are:

  • A large paper bag
  • String
  • Tissue paper
  • Glue
  • Scissors
  • Crepe paper streamers
  • Optional: Googly eyes, paint

Now I like a good papier-mâché project as much as the next mom. What’s not to love about kids with paste in their hair and strips of newspaper stuck to their shirt asking when you are going to put the candy in in – 14 days in a row? But this quick, easy version will just have to do.  Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Something to Make Saturday

2 responses to “Lansing – A Nice Place To Visit

  1. Deb

    My girls have just discovered Super Why lately and love it! We’re also big Blues Clues fans (and I so totally agree with you that about Steve)… Enjoy your trips to Lansing! 🙂

  2. thediaperdiaries

    I finally DVR’d Super Why and Lily was immediately hooked. In fact she saw me checking out this post and yelled, Super Why!!

    PS. you could not be more right about the Steve thing.

Leave a Reply

