Good Help – Not So Hard To Find

For those of you that are perfect parents, you can just skip this post and we’ll see you back here tomorrow.  The rest of you – keep reading.

Being a stay at home parent is hard.  Being a working parent is hard.  Being a good spouse and a parent at the same time is hard.  Being a single parent is hard. Parenting is hard, period.

Many of us would not hestitate to enlist the assistance of a trainer at the gym if we had some physical goals we were trying to reach.  Yet, we are hesitant to ask for help when it comes to parenting.  Why?

Well, there are many reasons, but a big one is that we don’t know what kind of help is available.  Enter parenting coaches.

I met Jill Urbane aka The Mentor Mom at a Bright Beginnings Parent Education meeting where she talked about Discipline for Children Under Five.  She gave a great talk and answered our burning questions, such as “How do I get my children to stop whining?”. 

I was VERY excited to learn (and you will too) that she has a blog. You have to check this out. She offers parenting advice, activities, book reviews… all with a great sense of humor. I have added her to my blogroll.  Information on her coaching services is also on her website.

I met Jennifer Wolf aka Pathways Parent Coach at the GRCC Family Matters event a few years ago.  I asked her to speak at an organization I belong to about the effects of media on children, and everyone in attendance was impressed.  For more on this subject, sign up for her free 30 day e-course, “Making Smart Decisions About Television“.

Jennifer has a website with LOTS of useful parenting information, including her coaching services. And guess what; she also has a blog!  It is for Christian mothers (although Pathways Parent Coach is for all faiths), and even has a free weekly telephone support call. I have added “Faith in Parenting” to my blogroll as well.

Coaching is not just for the big issues we face in parenting.  Sometimes we get stuck here and there on the little stuff, and just need some guidance. We always tell our kids to ask for help when they need it – it’s good advice! 

3 Comments

Filed under Feature Friday

3 responses to “Good Help – Not So Hard To Find

  1. adventuremom

    I am going to add Mentormom to my my blogroll too. I could use a little help from someone from time to time. Thanks for the info.

  2. Thanks so much for the kind words and sharing information on parent coaching with your readers! It is much appreciated 🙂

  3. thediaperdiaries

    Sorry, I didn’t read much of the post after I saw that “perfect parents” need not read. Is that laughing I hear. No really, I am serious…

Leave a Reply

