Very Exciting News

Woman Reading a Book (KITAP OKUYAN KADIN) -  Turkish artistJust about the time everyone is starting to grumble about winter being around the corner, and getting sad about summer being over, I am secretly excited.

For me, this means one thing. Yes, it’s that time again.  The Grand Rapids Public Library’s Reading Program is here!!

I KNOW!!

I’m sure you have been to the library this week already – I mean come on, it’s Wednesday; but for the one or two of you that haven’t I will fill you in.

This year, the program is called “Spilled Ink” and it runs from October 20 to February 29.  In that time you read 10 books.  When you sign up, you get a swell pen and a form to track your books. 

The librarian said that if you are a parent and you read children’s books frequently, you can also count 5 children’s books as one adult book.  Come on now. I signed up yesterday and would be done already if I used that – my kids have an insatiable appetite for being read to.

When you’re done (after February 1 and before the deadline of February 29 – apparently it is a leap year), turn in your form and get a library totebag and a Culture Pass. 

The Culture Pass has coupons to museums, theaters, and other stuff around town.  You will also be entered in a drawing to win a gift certificate from Schuler Books.  I think there is one certificate per branch.

You can also listen to audio books – perfect if you are travelling for the holidays. Now if you see me, you’ll know why I am smiling.  I’m getting another library tote bag 🙂

Look in my sidebar for the books I have read for Spilled Ink.  If you need a starter, I would recommend the book, “Buy, Buy Baby” by Susan Gregory Thomas.  It scared me. The author very methodically investigates the way that children are marketed to by toy, book and video companies.  It seems that they know more about our kids minds than we do. What are your suggestions? Leave a comment!

4 Comments

Filed under Breaking News

4 responses to “Very Exciting News

  1. Is this just for GRPL or for the Kent District Libraries too? Or can I sign up, even if I’m a KDL member and not GRPL? It sounds like a great program… And I’ll take any excuse to read more! 🙂

    And we have already been to the library this week – we went on Monday night while Hannah was at cheerleading – it’s only a block away, so works out perfectly!

  2. thediaperdiaries

    Yipee!!!!! Must go sign up now.

  3. Deb I am not sure; I don’t think KDL has the same program but I think you can still sign up for a GRPL program with a KDL card. Our library is within walking distance too and we love it!

  4. I love this and wish we had it in VA – why do the kids get to have all the fun with their summer reading programs? 🙂

Leave a Reply

