Winter Bazaar

Winter Bazaar

Scribbit, a blog about motherhood – in Alaska – is hosting the “Winter Bazaar” on Wednesdays.  It started last week, but I am jumping in today. This month’s  theme is Halloween. 

I particularly appreciate this; as I am just not a Halloween person.  I have no idea why. My parents made elaborate costumes for us – including a homemade penguin costume complete with a paper maîche head and entire body ‘suit’ with a zipper up the front. Amazing.

I am getting some ideas from other bloggers about ways I can be more festive this Halloween season. For now, I offer a recipe I got from the Public Museum of Grand Rapids during the “Grossology” exhibit.  It’s called “Worms In The Mud“.

Wiggle Worm Dirt Pudding 

Ingredients:

  • Instant chocolate pudding mix
  • Gummy worms
  • Chocolate graham crackers

Directions:

  1. Follow directions on the box of pudding mix.  Make sure there are no lumps.
  2. Put it in the refrigerator to set.
  3. When pudding is set, crumble up some graham crackers and mix them into the pudding. 
  4. Next, stir in some gummy worms, making sure they are covered in pudding.
  5. Divide pudding into four dishes, crumble some more graham crackers and lay a couple of worms on the top of each portion.

For more ideas, head over to Scribbit.

4 Comments

Filed under Winter Bazaar

4 responses to “Winter Bazaar

  1. I am printing this out and doing it with my kids this weekend!

  2. The first time I ever had dirt dessert was at a church function. We all had centerpieces of potted silk fall leaves. At the end of the dinner we were told our dessert was in the pots. It was so funny and I loved the worms and candy rocks that they used.

  3. Mmm I love Worms in Dirt (what I call it) We use Oreo Cookie Crumbs though.

    Glad you’re getting in the Halloween spirit!

  4. My boys would love this–and actually I’m not really a Halloween-type person myself but for some reason this year it just seemed like a fun thing to do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

