Mid-day At The Oasis

4Our Tasty Tuesday for this week actually occurred on Monday. Why? Well, A.P. didn’t have school and I am cheap, so I go to the Museum on Mondays when it is free for Grand Rapids residents. 

The first big hit of the day was the Juke Box Heroes exhibit. Both of my kids bust a move immediately upon hearing any type of music, (this includes walking past Abercrombie and Fitch at the mall; it can be embarassing) so they had a lot of fun with that. The only downside is that I can’t get that song out of my head now.

The other exhibit I had to bribe them to get them to leave  they really enjoyed was the Dolls exhibit.  I don’t know what it was, but a pretend tea party in the midst of a bunch of dolls hit the spot for them both.

Exterior

Why is this Tasty Tuesday you ask? Well, we stopped at the Oasis Café on the second floor for lunch.  It is a cute little place with an awesome view of the river, the new Marriott, and the 6th Street Bridge which for some reason, A.P. always refers to as “our little Blue Golden Gate Bridge”.

I had a delicious portobello mushroom and roasted tomato bisque and a Ginger Peach tea, and the kids had grilled cheese and a hot dog.  The kids meal is a pretty good deal; it includes a drink and chips as well as a token for a ride on the carousel (usually $1) for $4.95.  They also have sandwiches for grown ups and gigantic brownies and cookies too.

We’ll be back soon, as I learned that there will be an exhibit from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame coming in November about The Supremes. I am SO excited. I love anything and everything Motown and was crushed when my childhood dreams of being a backup singer for Martha and the Vandellas didn’t materialize.  I’m totally not kidding. Now is my chance. I’m hatching a plan right now to sneak into the exhibit and sing.  You can’t hurry love, no, you’ll just have to wait.

3 Comments

Filed under Tasty Tuesday

3 responses to “Mid-day At The Oasis

  1. Your breastfeeding experience as a child totally explains your Motown interest! Too funny!

  2. I can’t wait to see you singing in the Museum 🙂 I too had the dream of being a back up singer…alas I am just not as great as some others.

  3. cleaver mama

    I am awaiting a talent show for you and the kids to come as the Supreme’s. I want front row tickets!

Leave a Reply

