I’ve Found Hidden Treasure!

Since I started “Tasty Tuesday”, I have had several comments from other parents that their kids probably wouldn’t eat anything at the restaurants where A.P., Maybelle and I dine.

Let me be clear; my children are big fans of traditional kid fare too.  I like to eat things that I think are interesting, so Art & Bev’s Bistro  at Grand Rapids Community College was a great find for us.

I don’t think I’ve been in there often when there are other kids (I don’t mean those GRCC whippersnappers) besides mine.  My dear Big Binder readers; this is a place you all need to know about.

It is on right on GRCC’s campus, so it is a very convenient place to get lunch after you’ve been downtown having fun. It is run by GRCC’s award winning Hospitality Department.  You order at the counter and then take you food to a table, but it is ready very quickly because there are tons of people working. 

The prices here are great. For $10.00, we got a 10 inch cheese pizza, a five piece chicken tenders meal with fries, a sundried tomato wrap with veggies, feta cheese and pesto, two chocolate milks,  a pop, and two cookies.  Something for everyone, no?

There are salads, sandwiches, soups, hot dogs, pizza and a daily special.  Click here to see what specials they have cooking up this week. 

The food quality is remarkable. You will be impressed. I don’t mind my kids eating chicken tenders as long as they are real chicken and not “processed, mechanically separated chicken products”. There are also bakery goodies like freshly baked bread and cakes.  Art & Bev closes at 1:00; just in time to go home and take naps. 

It is in the Applied Technology Center, which is on the corner of Ransom and Fountain.  You park under the building; use the Ramsom Street entrance.  It will say restricted parking; but that is for students. There will be a sign for Art & Bev by the parking ramp ‘arm’.  It will swing open and let you in.  Art & Bev is on the second floor. Make sure you get an exit code from the staff at Art & Bev because that is how you get back out of the parking ramp.

I know you want to go check this out; I can just tell. The folks there are cool and it is a friendly atmosphere.  They want to meet you, too.  So much, in fact, that they donated two $5 gift certificates to encourage you to eat local – and enjoy it!

Just leave a comment below to enter; and good luck!

13 Comments

Filed under Contests, EatLocalChallenge, Tasty Tuesday

13 responses to “I’ve Found Hidden Treasure!

  1. Deb

    Oh sounds yummy – I’ll have to check them out! 🙂

  2. Dan

    I use to eat there all the time when I was in school. I had forgotten all about their great breakfast sandwiches and hash browns. Thanks for reminding me. I’ll be back soon.

  3. Never been. Another fun place to visit downtown.

  4. thediaperdiaries

    I have never heard of this. Sign me up for the gift certificates. This sounds great!

  5. Jenniflower

    I only knew about the Heritage restaurant. I’ll have to check it out. I’m downtown all the time.

  6. I’ve never even heard of this place! You know me though, always looking for a new place to enjoy the foods of our town 🙂 Sign me up!

  7. Sarah

    What a great idea!!! The only kind of restaurants that work for us are the kind where you can order at the counter and sit down. How nice to find out about a place with choices like veggie wraps with pesto.

  8. any place that serves fresh baked breads and cakes is my kind of restaurant. Thanks for another great find!

  9. Spartanjill

    Definitely a place to try and soon!

  10. Brendalynn Eustice

    This sounds fantastic! Are they open for dinner or just lunch? I may have been there some 18 years ago when I was on campus but under a different name?!

  11. Megan

    That’s right around the corner from my office…will put on my lunch stop next week.

  12. Pingback: Art & Bev « Big Binder