On The Heels of Autumn

© Oscar Durand, French Onion SoupMy friends, it is happening. We are on the heels of fall.  Time to deflate the beach balls and shake the sand out of the beach blanket for the last time (for a few months anyway).

One of the nice things about fall is that as things cool down outside, things heat up in the kitchen.  We start looking for cozy, warm food.  We start looking for soup!

Forget about opening up a can. Grand Rapids based Onion Crock makes delicious, upscale soup from scratch using high quality ingredients. Inspired by a bowl of French Onion Soup in Montreal, Gene Lacroix worked hard to duplicate the recipe. He opened a restaurant, (then another, then yet another) and from there moved on to starting a soup company.

Fortunately for you, my blog readers, the president of Onion Crock has donated a 12 pack of soup to help us succeed in Eating Locally, so the lucky winner will receive a gift certificate for a package of twelve 1 pound pouches. That’s a lot of soup!

To enter today’s contest, check out the Onion Crock’s website, then come on back and leave a comment below with your favorite soup.  Good luck!

14 Comments

Filed under Contests, EatLocalChallenge

14 responses to “On The Heels of Autumn

  1. thediaperdiaries

    I just can’t even express how much I love soup when it is getting cold out side!

  2. Dan Hormuth

    I carried these soups when I owned the bagel and coffee shop. They are awesome, especially the chicken and dumpling and the chicken chilli. The best part is that you can cook them in the bag and have no pots to scrub.
    Dan

  3. What a great company in our backyard. I am going to see if Chloe school would be interested in a fundraiser. Thanks for passing along this great info!

  4. Where have I been, and why haven’t I heard of this company before! Their soups sound absolutely DELISH. I would have to say though that the one I want to try the most would be their New England Clam Chowder……I can never find a good clam chowder around here! I am also very curious about their Husky Vegetarian.

  5. Momof3

    I have not heard of this one but definately want to give it a try! Broccoli cheese is always my favorite but the chicken egg noodle sounds very interesting!

  6. Rose

    I always love french onion, but white chicken chili is a definate try as well. And I would like to see if the clam chowder is a hit or miss like Char suggested. I made hubby soup on one of our first dates. He never forgot that date!!!!! 🙂 Soup is so satisfying especially with a good baguette and wine.

  7. cleaver mama

    Definetly Southwestern Chicken. I have never heard of this company before. Thank you so much!

  8. Spartanjill

    I haven’t heard of this one, but in checking out the site I can definitely tell this could become a favorite. So many yummy flavors to try, just in time for fall. Broccoli cheddar is always a favorite in our house.

  9. Silly Sister-in-law

    Southwestern Chicken sounds great for our family! We will have to look for this in the store the next time we are their (which is almost daily)!

  10. Jenniflower

    I love soup in the fall so they all look great. But the french onion and the asparagus sound especially great.

  11. Oh…..Soup. I love me some butternut squash soup.

  12. Sarah

    I remember going to the onion crock restaurant when I was little. I loved the onion soup with all of the cheese melted on top. I wonder if this soup tastes the same.

  13. Brendalynn Eustice

    French onion soup is my absolute favorite! Now that the chill is getting in the air I am ready for some warm soup! Nothing beats a good Sunday with friends, a football game on tv and a yummy soup!!!

  14. Megan

    I can’t wait for “soup” weather. What could be better than starting the season off with a whole case of it. Also, love the fundraising idea.