Sit Back For A Moment

Wow! I must be nicer than I know. Mom of 3 Girls has awarded the “Nice Matters” award to me! This is the second time I have received it and it is quite an honor. Thanks Deb! Now I will pass it along to Char at eastowners and my friend at Mom To Two Boys.  Enjoy ladies!

This brings me to my “Sanctuary Sunday” post.  So far, I have offered suggestions for how to take a break and recharge your batteries.  I truly think this is important.

However, there is more than one way to recharge.  Sometimes we need to just sit back and count our blessings. This reflection can really refocus us and set our minds right.

This is forefront on my mind as in my own household, we sound exactly like the Michigan Government are calmly and rationally discussing our family budget. It is a good time to shift from whining about what we don’t have to being thankful for what we do have.

Take a few moments to think about what you are thankful for. If you are so inclined, leave a comment.  Here, I’ll go first.

I am thankful that my children are healthy, as are my husband and I. I am thankful that we get to see our families regularly (but it still doesn’t feel like enough).

I am still coming down off of the high of being at the Priority Health Cycling Classic yesterday where my husband volunteered as a marshall and A.P. raced in the kids’ race. I am thankful that we live in a place like Grand Rapids (I know; what a shocker) where we can participate in these kinds of events. For free.

There is a definite ‘sanctuary’ and restorative effect in being grateful. Let the world know (or most of it as pretty much everyone reads Big Binder…) what you are thankful for. It is a good feeling 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under Sanctuary Sunday

7 responses to “Sit Back For A Moment

  1. Deb

    You’re welcome! 🙂

    I’m thankful for a healthy family as well and I’m thankful for the neighborhood and community we live in and all of the wonderful people we’ve met here.

  2. There are many things I am thankful for. The main one being that we are all considerably healthy here at the Eastowners’ house. I am also thankful for my husband…..he is my rock, and keeps me stable when I want to crumble.

  3. I am so thankful for my family and friends. Without the comfort, understanding, and love from them, life would be unenjoyable (not to mention boring!).

  4. By the way….thanks for the Nice Matters Award! I forgot to metion this last night in my rush to catch up on my missed blogs by being gone this weekend.

  5. momtotwoboys

    Hey, I’m just catching up on some of my blog reading! thanks for the Nice Matters Award! Wow, I feel like I’m being inducted in as an official member of the blogging world! =)

  6. cleaver mama

    I am thankful for our healthy as well. I am also thankful for the numerous different friends in my life. Each and every one has impacted me in a positive way. I am thankful for optimism and seeing the glass half full!

  7. Pingback: Awe…..Who Me? at eastowners

Leave a Reply

