I’ve Taken The Challenge!

I mentioned a few weeks back that Local First would be having an “Eat Local” challenge starting today and running for two weeks.

In addition, I have taken an Eat Local Challenge at, well, “Eat Local Challenge“.  Regular readers know that my blog is all about kid stuff.  As if Whitney Houston hasn’t had enough trouble, I’m going to rip her off and re-work one of her songs (in your head, hear her voice singing, not mine; it’s awful)

I believe that children are our future. Feed them well, and let them lead the way.

These Eat Local challenges are as much for my children as they are for me. You know already that I try and involve my kids in our food preparation as often as possible. I want my kids to know where their food comes from, or as we say around here, “Know The Dude That Makes Your Food” (or dudette as it may be, but that doesn’t rhyme).

I also want you, my readers, to get involved too.  I have organized a fun way for that to happen.  I contacted several local food producers and asked them to donate prizes for an “Eat Local” contest.  I am SO SO SO excited for all of you; there are some great prizes including coupons for free food, t-shirts, dolls, gift certificates to restaurants, and more!! These companies were very generous in their donations and you’ll read more about each of them over the next two weeks.

In addition, I will be chronicling my experience with the Eat Local Challenge.  How ‘local’ can I get? Will my kids, husband and I like what we are eating? Will it be more expensive?

I’m a pretty crafty cook, so I will be sharing recipes with you all too.  I have also started an “Eat Local” ‘meme’; which is where I ‘tag’ other bloggers to create one meal using local foods from their area and report back so we can see what they came up with.

I want to get a few questions out of the way. First, you may want to know if I am doing this for any type of profit. The answer is no; the companies have donated goods for YOU; I am not being paid at all to do this. 

The second, and much bigger question is why am I doing this in general.  There are many good reasons to eat local. I have my own. I have long considered the Grand Rapids area a place that you not only are a resident; but a citizen.  I consider this a positive value that I want to pass on to my children.  Also, in an area that has been pummeled by job loss and plant closures, eating local is one easy way to make a difference. The financial impact of eating local is clear.

Please join me in whatever way you are able.  Read along, play the contest, and ask around to get more information about where your food comes from.  Stay tuned; it’s going to be a great two weeks!

9 Comments

Filed under EatLocalChallenge

9 responses to “I’ve Taken The Challenge!

  1. adventuremom

    Good luck and way to go. I am doing my part, today I went to Heffron Farms Store for the first time and stocked up on all the hormone free meat. Going to try being greener on the inside of my body not just my home 🙂

  2. cleaver mama

    How do I do this? I think I am being dumb. I love this idea!

  3. Very excited to see what you have in store.

  4. Pingback: Hope It Goes Better For You « Big Binder

  5. I am so excited for this and for you. I can’t wait to read about your experiences. I am also going to try my best to eat local. Although, I fear that my children might just eat cheetos all week because I am definitely not as creative as you. By the way, I am totaly bummed that I didn’t read your blog until today. I totally missed your post about Garfield Park. I love that fair and had no idea that it was this weekend until just now! I guess I can’t miss a day of your blog!

  6. Silly Sister-in-law

    Brother-in-law and I are related to the “Under the Pines” family. Glad to see you buying local! We buy from a elderly farmer down the street all of the time, often he is just sitting in the middle of his small field of goodness watching it grow!

  7. I am ready for the challenge! I think for us it’ll be a few Local Meals…..as I am so not as creative with finding things locally as you are. I’m willing, and the kitchen is ready!

  8. Pingback: Eat Local Because Big Binder Says So… « Good Idea Momma

Leave a Reply

