Grandparents Day

I Love GrandpaGrandparents Day is September 9.  We will be celebrating a little early this year, because my dad is heading to the Kenai Penninsula in Alaska to visit my brother, who lives there. 

I don’t want to ruin the surprise and my Dad reads my blog, so if you’ll all excuse me for just a moment, I need to have a private conversation with my father.

Hey Dad – look! Over there! The Colbert Report is on!

That ought to do it.

Today’s craft comes from Preschool Rock. It is a loose change jar. My dad has an entire platter of loose change, so I know he will be able to use this. In fact, one time this platter funded the purchase of a concert ticket for me. My dad travels a lot and I recall being slowed down quite a bit by having to pick out all of the foreign money. I haven’t raided it lately, so it is most likely overflowing by now.

Here are the directions.  I am going to use a spaghetti sauce Mason-type jar and let A.P. do it. Maybelle is taking a nap, and she will get far more paint on herself than the jar. Besides, all she has to say is, “I love my bampa” and that is a pretty good gift in itself.

Materials You Will Need

Glass ashtray or bowl
Glass paint (permanent, no-bake)
Paint brushes
Newspaper

How to Make It

Step 1:

Wash and dry the glass ashtray or bowl. Place on top of the newspaper to avoid messes.

Step 2:

Put a large t-shirt on your preschooler, hand him the paintbrushes, and let him paint to his heart’s content!

Step 3:

Allow to dry.

Alternative Materials

Use a wooden salad bowl, sturdy paper disposable bowl, baby food jar, or any other container you might have around the house.

3 Comments

Filed under Something to Make Saturday

3 responses to “Grandparents Day

  1. thediaperdiaries

    Sorry, you lost me at Colbert Report. What were you saying?

  2. I should have Clare make one of these for our change bowl that’s over flowing – as Brad detests change. It’d make a good Christmas present for her dear old dad. 😉

  3. Deb

    We might have to try this one for something to hold the girls’ allowances, now that we’re starting to give them allowances, that is. Their favorite thing to do is paint, so it’s right up our alley.

    Wow, I’m older by a whole 6 days, huh! 😉 I was born at Providence though, not Sinai… Thanks for the congrats! 🙂

Leave a Reply

