On The Bus, That’s Where We’re Ridin’

An Open Letter to The Rapid:

Dear The Rapid:

I am writing to let you know I am featuring you today in my blog; albeit with a teensy bit of hesitation.

It is somewhat ironic that I was born and spent my early childhood in the Motor City, because I don’t care about cars. I don’t love them, I don’t hate them, I just don’t care.

I do love public transportation. I love anything that is an equalizer and that everyone has access to.  I appreciate the Rapid’s affordability, especially with the passes. It truly is cheaper than driving now.

I love that you are transporting college students.  I appreciate the DASH busses that making parking downtown easier and less messy.

Your drivers are extremely friendly and helpful. Your routes are great and cover pretty much everywhere I go on a regular basis.

This is the hard part. The part where I have to tell you what I don’t love. I know I have told you this before, but we have an audience now so I will say it again. Please please please add a ramp to the steps or get the kind of busses they have in Chicago. Those of us with kids need to be able to just push the strollers right on rather than try to collapse the stroller and keep the kids from running into the street at the same time.

Why not just collapse the stroller before the bus comes, you ask? That’s a good question.  The answer is; because the stop times are approximate, we stroller-pushers have to wait until we actually see the bus pull up to let the kids get out.

OK now I’m on a roll.

The Rapid, please offer more frequent stops. Most of the routes I travel on only have a bus come by every 40 minutes. Not a problem unless the bus comes and goes too early, leaving anyone who is there on time to wait 45 minutes for the next bus.

You know that Grand Rapids, and I, love you. We just passed a millage for you this spring.  I hope to encourage Grand Rapids to raise the next generation of mass transit users.  Keep up the good work, and just think about those requests.

Sincerely,

Big Binder

3 Comments

Filed under Feature Friday

3 responses to “On The Bus, That’s Where We’re Ridin’

  1. adventuremom

    Do you really ride the bus?

  2. I do! It was a lot easier when I just had one kid because a double stroller is, well you know. Huge and tough to get up the steps and in to the bus before both kids take off in different directions.

    I like taking it especially to places that are tough to park; the Farmer’s Market is a good one because you can drive around FOREVER looking for a spot.

  3. That’s why I love my bike! I can ride it in tough places that are hard to park in that are close in my area. Eventually one day I will have gained enough stamina that I can ride anywhere around town, for now it’s relatively close things.

Leave a Reply

