So Pedestrian

REM

I went to college in Athens, Georgia.  Nope; I never met Herschel Walker, or the B 52’s. I did, once, get hit in the head with a frisbee thrown by Peter Buck of R.E.M. though.

For anyone who hasn’t been to Athens, a good way to describe it is Ann Arbor with a southern accent. I thought it was about the ‘crunchiest’ place I’d ever been.  Then a friend of mine from U.G.A. moved to Denver and I went to visit. We took a day trip up to Boulder. Athens had nothing on this place.

We stopped at a restaurant for lunch. Let me stop for a minute to say that I consider myself to be quite a conniseur of nachos. I asked the waitress how their nachos were, and she just looked at me with great disdain. I asked if that meant that they were not good, to which she replied, “No, it’s not that. Nachos are just so…. pedestrian.”

Well!

One thing I like more than nachos is walking.  The word pedestrian is not an insult to me. I would walk everywhere if I could. 

Today I’m going to talk about the Golden Shoe Campaign. It’s a free, community walking campaign that is designed to encourage people to increase their physical activity, as well as see what different neighborhoods have to offer.  It’s a perfect way to get some exercise, and show your kids around town at the same time.

Click on the website for the maps and routes.  They are great suggestions for exploring areas around town. At different times during the campaign you may spot a golden shoe.  If you do, check the website for how to claim your prize; a free pair of shoes!

I am proud to be a nacho-eating pedestrian. Will you  join me?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “So Pedestrian

  1. goodideamomma

    From one food lover to another, have you tried the two together? The Walking Nacho…a snack size bag of Fritos, a scoop of ready-made chili, a scoop of nacho cheese, and salsa and sour cream as optional toppings. Just put everything inside the bag of Fritos, microwave for 20 secs and voila, Walking Nachos! Feel free to substitute toppings as you wish. Definitely not the healthiest snack idea, but definitely yummy!

  2. cleaver mama

    This is soooooooo cool! I love this!

Leave a Reply

