Amidst Sadness, Strawberries

First and foremost, thank you all so much for your kindness after my friend died.  I missed Big Binder and you wonderful readers, but when I sat down to write it just didn’t feel right.  Always a big proponent of following my gut; I waited it out. So here’s a brief (OK not really) catch-up on the past couple of weeks. 

The day I found out about my friend dying had been a fantastic day up until that point.  I had two friends over to can strawberry jam and it was so fun! You’ll hear more about that later this week. The kids and I attended Great Beginnings Camp and had a blast.  I think they did anyway, I was kind of busy chatting it up with the other moms.  Hi Rachel and Tammy! It was fun to hang out with you both.  They are the next victims students of Jen’s Canning School come tomato season.

I decided to just freeze a bunch of berries at this time rather than make jam as I still have some left over from next year.  I got two flats (that’s – a lot) on Wednesday of the following week and set out to freeze.  My in-laws were scheduled to arrive that evening and I figured I’d be done by the time they got there. Nope.  Fortunately, the amazing woman who recently married my father in law sat down after 10 hours in the car to help me finish up. They stayed until this morning and it has been a wonderful visit.  We had so much fun connecting and bonding, I can honestly say I love my new Mother in Law! 

We had a Fourth of July Party as well, and one of the guests brought Strawberry Freezer Jam as a hostess gift.  I LOVE freezer jam and am waiting until my family forgets we got it so I can eat the entire container myself.  I was the hostess, after all.  The party was wonderful, we really had a good time and all of our guests were so much fun to hang out with.  We set up a cookie bar for the kids and let them sprinkle red, white and blue sugar; candy flags, and little star-shaped decorations on their very well-frosted sugar cookies.

In that time frame there was also a fantastic high school graduation open house for my second cousin (no, not my husband but thanks for asking) and I got to see some folks I don’t see nearly enough of.   My sister-in-law also had us over for dinner and that was a fun time too.

Then back to the sadness.  By far the lowest on my list but not entirely insignificant, Uga VI died. He was of course the mascot for the University of Georgia, my alma mater. Excuse my French here, it will probably be the only time you see cursing on Big Binder but I must say it now:  Uga, you were a Damn Good Dawg.

Also our priest, who we loved, moved away.  I bawled like a little baby when he sat down during mass and played guitar for all of us, and sang “You Raise Me Up“.  Today was the first mass with our new priest and I am already excited by what he will bring to our church.  He is Nigerian, has a (self-described) Funny Accent, and a wonderful sense of humor.  After church we also got news that my husband’s Grandmother, who had not been doing well, passed away this morning and we’re very sad about that. 

With that, I have put together a menu that is very tentative as we wait to hear what the week will bring with travel arrangements for the funeral. 

MONDAY

Beef-and-Chicken Fajitas with Peppers and OnionsLeftovers from this recipe for Beef and Chicken Fajitas with Peppers and Onions from Cooking Light.  So good…

TUESDAY

Breakfast for Dinner.  I am really trying to get ahold of this grain soaking thing, so I am going to try “Nourishing Traditions Waffles” with soaked grains, and serve along with fresh fruit.

WEDNESDAY

Taco Style Lentils & Ricefrom Hillbilly Housewife, along with a mixed greens salad.  I also have some Pineapple Fluffs left over that I’ll serve as desert.

THURSDAY

Ham and Cheese Omlette Roll that my cousin made for the open house.  This is VERY yummy! It would be perfect for a brunch, but I am going to use it as a dinner entree instead. It is similar to a Pampered Chef recipe. Note: in the recipe, the ingredient ‘slat’ is salt.  Maybe that is obvious, but it took me a minute to figure out.

FRIDAY

Corn-on-the-Cob CupcakeI think by this time, I will be ready to order a pizza or at the very most, make a crust in the dough maker and let the kids do the toppings.  We’re also going to make this super cute recipe for Corn On The Cob Cupcakes.

Laura has more Menu Plan Monday over on her blog.

Photobucket

 

8 Comments

Filed under Menu Plan Monday

8 responses to “Amidst Sadness, Strawberries

  1. Sorry to hear about your friend! Will keep you in my prayers :)

    Great Menu!

    Have a wonderful Monday!

    ♥Sandra♥

    Menu Plan

  2. Kiy

    Very sorry for your loss, hope you are doing better. Great menu but what really freaked me out … I grew up in G’ville *and* went to Central Elementary! Small world. :)

    Hope your week is okay, I know it’s hard loosing loved ones. Remember to be kind to yourself, while you are doing for everyone else (’cause, as the woman in the group, we tend to).

    /hugs, Kiy

  3. Jen, sorry to hear about the bad news you’ve been dealing with. I saw those corn cupcakes in Family Fun as well — they are so cute! Enjoy making them.

  4. Will continue to pray for your family during this time of loss!

    Your menu sounds good! Those corn cupcakes look fun! :)

  5. wow – busy girl. good, bad, sad. yikes. we’ll have to catch up soon, i hope!

    those cupcakes are so cute – i think i may attempt them as well, using corn pops cereal instead of jelly beans. they are just darling!

  6. You have been very missed here in the blogosphere and in the real world. Call me when life is a bit back to normal so we can have a playdate (or grown up date).

    Tell T I am really sorry about his Grandma.

  7. So sorry to hear about your loss! I hope the clouds lift soon :)

    PS: I’m with you on the freezer jam! I hide it way at the back of the frig so no one can find it ;)

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday « Big Binder

Leave a Reply

